The Department of Medicine is comprised of approximately over 630 full-time and voluntary faculty. Many are internationally recognized investigators and/or outstanding clinical practitioners. The faculty includes one Nobel laureate, four members of the National Academy of Sciences, three members of the Institute of Medicine, 16 members of the Association of American Physicians, and 24 members of the American Society for Clinical Innovation.

Several department specialties are consistently ranked by US News and World Report as among the best in the nation both in their listing of top hospitals and top medical schools. Faculty members serve as leaders of international, national and local medical and scientific societies. Some of the most recent examples include president of the World Heart Federation, the American Society of Transplantation, and the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases, Chair of the Research Committee of the Association of Professors of Medicine and Chair of the Group on Education Affairs of the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Our faculty brings its considerable experience and talent to bear in developing and running a wide-variety of services to meet our missions of excellence in patient care, research and education.