Program Overview

The Department of Neurology offers a one- or two-year fellowship in cerebrovascular disease. The first year of training is in an ACGME-approved Vascular Neurology program. Fellows develop expertise in the management of acute cerebrovascular disease while assisting in directing the care of patients on the Stroke Service, including those patients in the eight-bed Gustave L. Levy Acute Stroke Unit and the Neuroscience Intensive Care Unit. In addition to running the service in the stroke unit and NSICU and obtaining training in transcranial and carotid Dopplers, fellows also spend time in Neuroradiology.

The stroke fellows precept a weekly resident stroke clinic, for which Dr. Horowitz is the director. Two or three months/year are spent as the stroke fellow at Maimonides Hospital in the stroke division under Dr. Rudolph, which is considered a highly valuable hands-on experience. Maimonides and Mount Sinai are New York State Department of Health-designated and Joint Commission-certified stroke centers. Academic experience for the fellows also includes a weekly vascular neurology conference in conjunction with the departments of Neurosurgery and Neuroradiology.

Research Opportunities

Fellows participate in ongoing federally funded neuroepidemiologic and clinical research, including acute interventional trials. Opportunities exist for conducting research in the Department's noninvasive vascular laboratory and for additional research experience related to the fellow's own interests. The second year of the program allows the fellow to focus more heavily on research activities. Fellows may obtain additional research experience in the Cerebrovascular Research Training Program

Faculty (Fellowship director and associated faculty)

Stanley Tuhrim, MD (Director, Division of Cerebrovascular Disease)
Jesse Weinberger, MD
Deborah Horowitz, MD
Kara Sheinart, MD
Mandip Dhamoon, MD, MPH
Steven Rudolph, MD

Fellows in ACGME-Approved Program


  • Karthikeyan Arcot, MD (7/2011-Present)
  • Jeremy Liff, MD (7/2011-Present)


  • Aviva Lubin, MD (7/2010-6/2011) Director, Stroke Center, Lenox Hill Hospital, New York, New York
  • Frank Kim, MD (7/2010-6/2011) Stroke Attending, Eden Medical Center, Castro Valley, California
  • Sarah Cherian, MD (7/2009-6/2010), Stroke Attending, Winthrop-University Hospital, Mineola, New York
  • Qingliang Wang, MD, PhD (7/2009-6/2010) Neurointerventional fellow, Mount Sinai Hospital, New York, New York
  • Victor Zach, MD (7/2008-6/2010) Neurocritical care fellow, Mount Sinai Hospital, New York, New York (7/2010-6/2011) Director of Stroke and Neurocritical Care, John C. Lincoln North Mountain Hospital, Phoenix, Arizona
  • Kathryn Kirchoff, MD (7/2008-6/2010) Stroke Attending and Assistant Professor of Neurology, Albert Einstein School of Medicine, Bronx, New York
  • Colum Amory, MD (7/2007-6/2009), Stroke Attending and Assistant Professor of Neurology, Albany Medical College, Albany, New York
  • Damon Patterson, MD (7/2007-6/2008) Assistant Professor and Director of Endovascular Neurology, UAB Comprehensive Stroke Center, Birmingham, Alabama
  • Lorenzo Blas, MD (7/2006-6/2008) Stroke Program, Hermann Hospital, Houston, Texas
  • Ramadeep Sahni, MD (7/2005-6/2007) Stroke Program, Westchester Medical Center, New York Medical College, Valhalla, New York
  • Kathleen M. Burger, MD (7/2003-6/2005) Director, Stroke Center, George Washington University School of Medicine, Washington, DC

Application information

  • Duration:1- or 2- years
  • Start Date: July 1st
  • For training prerequisites, application requirements,and application deadline, please contact: Stanley Tuhrim, MD.


Contact Us

Stanley Tuhrim, MD
Send e-mail
Tel: 212-241-4562

Department of Neurology
The Mount Sinai Health System
One Gustave L. Levy Place
Box 1137
New York, NY 10029