Deans and Directors

John H. Morrison, Ph.D.
Dean, Basic Sciences and the Graduate School of Biomedical
Sciences
Professor, Neuroscience
Professor, Geriatrics and Adult Development
E-mail: john.morrison@mssm.edu
Tel: (212) 824-9301

Ross Cagan, PhD
Senior Associate Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Professor, Developmental and Regenerative Biology
Professor, Ophthalmology
Professor, Oncological Sciences
E-mail: ross.cagan@mssm.edu
Tel: (212) 241-1427

Basil G. Hanss, PhD
Senior Associate Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Associate Professor, Division of Nephrology, Department of Medicine
Associate Professor, Structural & Chemical Biology
Associate Professor, Department of Medical Education
Director, Masters of Biomedical Sciences (MSBS)
E-mail: basil.hanss@mssm.edu
Tel: (212) 241-6546

Lily Recanati, M.P.A.
Associate Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
E-mail: lily.recanati@mssm.edu
Tel: (212) 241-2793

Janice Gabrilove, MD
Professor of Medicine and Oncological Sciences
Program Co-Director
Co-Program Director, PORTAL
Email: janice.gabrilove@mssm.edu

Nils Hennig, MD, PhD, MPH
Director, Master of Public Health Program
E-mail: nils.hennig@mssm.edu
Tel: (212) 824-7033

Andrew Kasarskis, PhD
Interim Director, Center for Technology, Innovation and Entrepreneurship (C-TIE), Graduate School
Co-Director, Icahn Institute for Genomic and Multiscale Biology
Associate Professor Genetics and Genomic Sciences
E-mail:andrew.kasarskis@mssm.edu
Tel: (212) 659-6895

Margaret H. Baron, MD, PhD
Senior Associate Dean for Education
Director, MD/PhD Program
Irene and Dr. Arthur M. Fishberg Professor of Medicine
Professor, Departments of Medicine, Developmental and Regenerative Biology, and Oncological Sciences
Director, Program in Hematology and Blood Disorders
E-mail: margaret.baron@mssm.edu
Tel: (212) 241-0825

Eric Nestler, MD, PhD
Senior Advisor to the MD/PhD Program
Professor & Chair, Neuroscience
Director, Friedman Brain Institute
Professor of Psychiatry
E-mail: eric.nestler@mssm.edu
Tel: (212) 659-5996

Alan J. Moskowitz, MD
Professor & Vice Chair, Department of Population Health Science and Policy
Program Co-Director
E-mail: alan.moskowitz@mountsinai.org
Tel: (212) 659-9599

Karen Zier, PhD
Professor of Medicine (Clinical Immunology) and Medical Education
Program Co-Director, PORTAL
E-mail: karen.zier@mssm.edu
Tel: (212) 241-4429

Randi E. Zinberg, M.S.
Director, Genetic Counseling Program
E-mail: randi.zinberg@mssm.edu
Tel: (212) 241-6947