PORTAL Faculty and Staff

Karen Zier, PhD
Director, PORTAL Program (MD/MSCR)
Associate Dean for Medical Student Research
Professor of Medicine and Immunology
E-mail: karen.zier@mssm.edu

Karen Zier, PhD, is Professor of Medicine, Medical Education, and Immunology and the Associate Dean for Medical Student Research. She serves as course director for the first year medical school Basic and Clinical Immunology course. Dr. Zier is the author of over 70 publications in immunology and medical education. She has served on numerous NIH study sections and received a gubernational appointment to the New York State Health Research Science Board. Dr. Zier is principal investigator and Program Leader of the Doris Duke Clinical Research Fellowship Program, funded by the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation. As a member of the AAMC Scholarly Concentrations Program Collaborative and the CTSA TL1 Program, Dr. Zier is committeed to developing scholarly programs and integrating them into the medical education curriculum in order to encourage critical thinking, creativity, and life long learning by students. She directs numerous scholarly programs for medical students including PORTAL; the Summer Research Scholars Program; the Distinction in Research Track; the Scholarly Year Program; INSPIRE, an opportunity for independent scholarship during the 4th year; and FAME, in which Doris Duke Fellows mentor first year and second year medical students, providing early exposure to clinical and translational research.

Janice Gabrilove, MD
Director, MSCR Program
Co-Program Director, PORTAL
Professor of Medicine
E-mail: janice.gabrilove@mssm.edu

Janice L. Gabrilove, MD, is an internationally recognized expert on leukemia and ameliorating the destructive side-effects of chemotherapy on blood-cell production. She joined Mount Sinai as Professor and Chief of the Division of Medical Oncology in the Department of Medicine in 1998 and presently serves as Director of the Clinical Research Training Program (CRTP), Master of Science (MSCR) and PhD in Clinical Research in the Mount Sinai Graduate School of Biological Sciences and is the James F. Holland, M.D., Professor of Medicine and Oncological Sciences.

A pioneer in the development of the understanding of hematopoietic cytokines, Dr. Gabrilove and her colleagues were the first to purify and characterize granulocyte colony stimulating factor (G-CSF), and to demonstrate that it could alleviate certain harmful effects of chemotherapy on blood cell production. G-CSF, under the trade-name of Neupogen & Neulasta, is now used worldwide as a supplement to chemotherapy. Her recent studies have focused on the role of basic fibroblast (connective tissue) growth factor in hematologic malignancy and cell differentiation. Dr. Gabrilove has been a member of the Food and Drug Administration's Advisory Committee for the Approval of Biologics and the NIH/NIDDK Hematology-2 Study Section. She has served on the Editorial Board of a number of prestigious journals including Blood and the Executive Committee of the American Society of Hematology.

Alan Moskowitz, MD
Professor & Vice Chair, Health Evidence and Policy
Co-Director, MSCR Program
Co-Director, PORTAL
E-mail: alan.moskowitz@mssm.edu