Doris Duke Charitable Foundation Clinical Research Fellowship (CRF) Program for Medical Students

Fellows

DDCRF Class of 2008-2009

 

Siddharth Bhola

Mentor: Karl Jepsen, PhD, Department of Orthopaedics
Project: Co-adaptation and Sexual Dimorphism of Skeletal Traits During Growth
E-mail: siddharth.bhola@mssm.edu

 


Mai-Khanh Bui-Duy

Mentor: Mary Klotman, MD, Department of Medicine
Project: Effect of Innate Immune Responses by Gonococcal and Chlamydial Invasion of Genital Epithelial Cells on HIV-1 Infection of Quiescent and Activated T Cells
E-mail: mai-khanh.bui-duy@mssm.edu

 


Thomas Curran

Mentor: Michelle Kim, MD, Department of Medicine/Gastroenterology
Project: Prognostic Clinicopathologic Features of Small Bowel Carcinoid Tumors
E-mail: thomas.curran@mssm.edu

 


Kathleen Lee

Mentor: Michelle Gong, MD, Department of Medicine/Pulmonary
Project: PBEF and its Clinical Correlates in Acute Lung Injury and Sepsis.
E-mail: kathleen.lee@mssm.edu

 


Nadia Pelaez

Mentor: Audrey Bernstein, PhD, Department of Ophthalmology
Project: The Role of SDF-1 and CXCR4 in Regulating Corneal Wound Healing
E-mail: nadia.pelaez@mssm.edu

 


Ellen Plumb

Mentor: Carol Horowitz, MD, Department of Health Policy
Project: A Community-Based Participatory Approach to Obesity and Type 2 Diabetes Prevention among Maternal-Child Dyads with a History of Gestational Diabetes
E-mail: ellen.plumb@jefferson.edu

 


Alison Santopolo

Mentor: Mirna Chehade, MD, Department of Pediatric Allergy and Immunology and Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition
Project:The Role of Dendritic Cells in the Pathogenesis of Eosinophilic sophagitis
E-mail: abs2009@med.cornell.edu

 


Matthew Whitson

Mentor: James Aisenberg, MD, Department of Medicine/ Gastroenterology
Project: The Effect of IL-8 on Human Gastroduodenal Ulcer Healing
E-mail:matthew.whitson@mssm.edu