Events

Friedman Brain Institute Translational Neuroscience Seminar Series

The Friedman Brain Institute Translational Neuroscience Seminar series is a broad-based series of lectures that cover a wide range of topics. These include depression, Alzheimer's disease, autism, cognition, glutamate receptors, synaptic plasticity, synapse formulation/maturation, stem cells, neuroimmunology and glial development. The seminars are on Thursdays at 1:00 pm.

Seminar Series Events:

Related Clubs and Programs

ADND Club (Alzheimer's Disease and Neurodegeneration Club)
For more information, please contact Drs. Mary Sano at: Mary.Sano@mssm.edu or Nikos Robakis at Nikos.robakis@mssm.edu


Brain Imaging Club
For more information, please contact Dr. Rita Goldstein at rita.goldstein@mssm.edu
The Brain Imaging Club highlights neuroimaging studies conducted at Mount Sinai and elsewhere with a particular focus on understanding shared and distinct brain mechanisms underlying the complexity of human health and disease. This club also provides imaging users the opportunity to discuss imaging acquisition and analyses procedures and standardized imaging protocol that can be shared by all users, and neuroimaging related updates from the Translational and Molecular Imaging Institute.


Cells & Circuits WIP (by invitation only)
For more information, please contact Vena Persaud at vena.persaud@mssm.edu

Weekly joint lab meeting of several groups focused on the neurobiology of neurons and glia.


Center for Cognitive Health 
For more information, please contact Dr. Samuel E. Gandy  at samuel.gandy@mssm.edu


Chromatin Club
For more information, please contact Dr. Emily Bernstein at emily.bernstein@mssm.edu

The goal is to bring chromatin biologists together from all areas of research including cancer, development, neurosciences, and structural biology. The club is meant to allow participants to learn about what their colleagues are doing on campus and facilitate interactions and collaborations.


Cognition/Cajal Club
For more information on the Cognition Club, please contact Dr. Mark Baxter at mark.baxter@mssm.edu
For more information on the Cajal Club, please contact Dr. Patrick Hof at patrick.hof@mssm.edu

Cognition Club meets to discuss research on cognitive function at a wide range of levels, from molecular biology of memory to cognitive function in psychiatric disease.  The goal is to provide a forum in which researchers working on diverse problems in the broad area of cognition may spark new ideas and translational collaborations.

The Cajal Club is organized by the memebr of Kastor Neurobiology of Aging Laboratories and meets to discuss ongoing research on functional aspects of systems neuroscience, with a particular emphasis on the cellular and molecular biology of brain aging and age-related brain disorders. It will merge on occasion with the Cognition Club when topics being discussed are of relevance for the larger group.


Depression Club
For more information, please contact Vena Persaud at vena.persaud@mssm.edu

Monthly meeting of basic and clinical researchers who focus on depression and other stress-related disorders.


Epigenetics - WIP (by invitation only)
For more information, please contact Vena Persaud at vena.persaud@mssm.edu

Weekly joint lab meeting of several groups focused on epigenetic regulation in the nervous system.


Genetics and Genomics Seminars
For more information, please contact Erin Brittain at erin.brittain@mssm.edu


MAP (Mood and Anxiety Disorders) Club
For more information, please contact Dr. Brian Iacoviello


Multiple Sclerosis Club
For more information, please contact Dr. Patrizia Casaccia at patrizia.casaccia@mssm.edu


Neurology - WIP
Contact: For more information, please contact Dr. Stuart Sealfon at Stuart.Sealfon@mssm.edu


Psychiatric Genomics Club
For more information, please contact Dr. Pamela Sklar


Psychosis Research Program Seminar Series

Organized by Dr. Sophia Frangou. These seminars are open to all those who are involved in research or clinical care of patients with psychosis and highlight new research findings and their translational application.

Venue: Icahn Building - 4th Floor, Room 4-82.

For details see Psychosis Research Program Seminars.


Seaver Center Events

For more information, please contact Jessica Brownfeld at jessica.brownfeld@mssm.edu
For information on upcoming events:  Seaver Autism Center


The Beth Israel Medical Center
Movement Disorder Support Groups

Adult Dystonia Support Group
Facilitator: Joan Miravite, NP

Ataxia Support Group
Facilitators:  Denise Mitchell
Markmeghan2@gmail.com
Kathy Gingerelli
kgingerelli@msn.com

Caregiver Support Group
Facilitator: Rita Golub, LCSW, 646.335.2600, Golub60@aol.com

Deep Brain Stimulation Support Group
Contact 212.844.6134 or BIMCMovDis@chpnet.org

Essential Tremor Support Group
Facilitator: Margaret Mackey, 212.673.8207 or peggymackey@nyc.rr.com

Manhattan Parkinson Group
Facilitator: Sheree Loftus, PhD, 212.844.8482 or sloftus@chpnet.org

Men's PD Support Group
Facilitator: Joan Miravite, NP 212.844.6134 or BIMCMovDis@chpnet.org

Movers & Shakers Parkinson Support Group
Facilitator: Sheree Loftus, PhD, 212.844.8482 or sloftus@chpnet.org

Young Onset PD Support Group
Facilitator: Sheree Loftus, PhD, 212.844.8482 or sloftus@chpnet.org
Please RSVP to 212.844.6134 or BIMCMovDis@chpnet.org
Patient moderator: Pam Sloate, pamsloate@yahoo.com

Movement Classes FALL 2014 [PDF]
Movement Disorder Support Group FALL 2014 [PDF]

Contact Us

Jenny Rivera
Administrator
Tel: 212-659-5993
Fax: 212-849-2611

Vena Persaud
Executive Assistant
Tel: 212-659-5996
Fax: 212-659-8510

Calendar of Events

The Friedman Brain Institute offers regular lectures, seminars and other events. View the calendar for more information.