Team

Head of Laboratory

Kristina Simonyan, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Neurology
Associate Professor of Otolaryngology
Faculty, Friedman Brain Institute
Clinical Training Faculty, Graduate School of Biological Sciences
Tel: (212) 241-0656
E-mail: kristina.simonyan@mssm.edu

 

Fellows

Stefan Fuertinger, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
Tel: (212) 241-6559
E-mail:stefan.fuertinger@mssm.edu

 

 

Giovanni Battistella, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
Tel: (212) 241-2635
E-mail:giovanni.battistella@mssm.edu

 

 

Ritesh Ramdhani, MD
Movement Disorders Fellow
Tel: (212) 241-5607
E-mail: ritesh.ramdhani@mssm.edu

 

 

Research Staff

Heather E. Alexander, BA
Associate Researcher
Tel: (212) 241-3759
E-mail: heather.alexander@mssm.edu

 

 

Estee Rubien-Thomas, BA
Associate Researcher
Tel: (212) 241-1438
E-mail: estee.rubien-thomas@mssm.edu

 

 

Joel C. Zinn, BA
Associate Researcher
E-mail: joel.zinn@mssm.edu

 

 

 

Volunteers

Veena Kumar
Research Volunteer
Undergraduate Student at Columbia University
Tel: (212) 241-1438
E-mail: veena.kumar@mssm.edu

 

 

Stephen Leong
Research Volunteer
Hunter College High School

 

 


Former members

Samantha Levine, MSW 
Clinical Research Coordinator (2013-2014)
Currently: Weill Cornell Medical College, New York, NY

Peter Baxter, MD
ENT research rotation (2013)
Currently: ENT resident at Icahn School of Medicine, New York, NY

Melissa Choy, BA
Associate Researcher (2012-2013)
Currently: Medical student at Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia, PA

Amanda Pechman, BA
Associate Researcher (2012-2013)
Currently: Medical student at University of Miami, Miami, FL

Ian Farewell, MSG, MSW
Associate Researcher (2012-2013)
Currently: Social worker, Los Angeles Jewish Home

Arash Fazl, MD, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow (2011-2012)
Currently: Neurology Resident at Icahn School of Medicine, New York, NY

Manjula Khubchandani, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow (2010-2012)

Jordan McHugh
High school student volunteer (summer 2010)
Intel Science Talent Search 2011 semifinalist
Currently: Undergraduate student at University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI

 


Collaborators

Andrew Blitzer, MD, DDS, FACS
New York Center for Voice and Swallowing Disorders, New York, NY

Steven Frucht, MD
The Robert and John M. Bendheim Parkinson and Movement Disorders Center
Icahn School of Medicine, New York, NY

Mark Hallett, MD
Human Motor Control Section
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, NIH, Bethesda, MD

Barry Horwitz, PhD
Brain Imaging and Modeling Section
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders, NIH, Bethesda, MD

Sandra B. Martin, MS
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, NIH, Bethesda, MD

Laurie Ozelius, PhD
Department of Genetics and Genomic Sciences
Icahn School of Medicine, New York, NY

John J. Sidtis, PhD
Brain and Behavior Laboratory
Nathan Kline Institute for Psychiatric Research, Oragenburg, NY