Faculty and Staff

Meet the faculty, staff, and advisory board members of The Mindich Child Health and Development Institute (MCHDI).

Core Leadership and Staff

Our dedicated team works collaboratively, both together and across the Mount Sinai Health System.

Bruce D. Gelb, MD, Director
Elena Lum, PhD, Program Manager II
Risa Slaughter, Administrative Coordinator
Monica Sohn, Executive Director of Development
Caryn Karo, Director of Development

Internal Advisory Board

Our MCHDI faculty and team of physician-scientists provides guidance from an internal perspective.

Joseph D. Buxbaum, PhD
Ross L. Cagan, PhD
Andrew J. Sharp, PhD
Robert O. Wright, MD, MPH

External Advisory Board

We have a three-member external physician-scientist board comprised of faculty from other notable institutions.

Scott Baldwin, MD (Vanderbilt University)
Marie Lynn Miranda, PhD (Rice University) 
Joseph Piven, MD (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Faculty

Our multidisciplinary faculty hails from a diverse set of clinical and research specialties. 

M. Cecilia Berin, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Tel: 212-241-4986
cecilia.berin@mssm.edu

Supinda Bunyavanich, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics and Genetics and Genomic Sciences
Tel: 212-241-5548
supinda.bunyavanich@mssm.edu

Xiu-Min Li, MD
Professor, Pediatrics
Tel: 212-241-4661
xiu-min.li@mssm.edu

Madhan Masilamani, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Tel: 212-241-8684
madhan.masilamani@mssm.edu

Anna Nowak-Wegrzyn, MD
Associate Professor, Pediatrics
Tel: 212-241-5548
anna.novak-wegrzyn@mssm.edu

Hugh A. Sampson, MD
Dean, Translational Biomedical Sciences
Professor, Pediatrics
Tel: 212-241-5548
hugh.sampson@mssm.edu

Scott H. Sicherer, MD
Professor, Pediatrics
Tel: 212-241-5548
scott.sicherer@mssm.edu

Julie Wang, MD
Associate Professor, Pediatrics
Tel: 212-241-5548
julie.wang@mssm.edu

Rosalind J. Wright, MD, MPH
Dean, Translational Biomedical Research
Director, Clinical and Translational Science Award
Horace W. Goldsmith Chair of Children’s Health Research
Professor, Pediatrics and Preventive Medicine
Tel: 212-241-5287
rosalind.wright@mssm.edu

Harold S. Bernstein, MD, PhD
Adjunct Professor, Pediatrics
hsbernstein@gmail.com

Chen-Leng Cai, PhD
Associate Professor, Developmental and Regenerative Biology
Tel: 212-824-8917
chenleng.cai@mssm.edu

Nicole C. Dubois, PhD
Assistant Professor, Developmental and Regenerative Biology
Tel: 212-824-8939
nicole.dubois@mssm.edu

Bruce D. Gelb, MD
Director, The Mindich Child Health and Development Institute
Professor, Pediatrics and Genetics and Genomic Sciences
Tel: 212-824-8938
bruce.gelb@mssm.edu

Anne Moon, MD
Adjunct Professor, Pediatrics
anne.moon@mssm.edu

Yong Zhao, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Genetic and Genomic Sciences
Tel: 212-824-8916
yong.zhao@mssm.edu

Manish Arora, PhD, BDS, MPH
Associate Professor, Preventive Medicine and Dentistry
Tel: 212-241-2551
manish.arora@mssm.edu

Joseph Buxbaum, PhD
Director, Seaver Autism Center
Professor, Psychiatry, Neuroscience, and Genetics and Genomic Sciences
Tel: 212-241-0200
joseph.buxbaum@mssm.edu

Patrizia Casaccia, MD, PhD
Professor, Genetics and Genomic Sciences, Neuroscience, and Neurology
Tel: 212-659-5988
patrizia.casaccia@mssm.edu

Jia Chen, ScD
Professor, Pediatrics, Preventive Medicine, Medicine, and Oncological Sciences
Tel: 212-241-7492
jia.chen@mssm.edu

Barbara Coffey, MD
Professor, Psychiatry
Tel: 212-659-1663
barbara.coffey@mssm.edu

Dani Dumitriu, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Neuroscience
Tel: 212-824-8986
dani.dumitriu@mssm.edu

Lisa R. Eiland, MD
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Tel: (212) 523-8306
leiland@chpnet.org

Dorothy Grice, MD
Professor, Psychiatry
Tel: 212-659-1670
dorothy.grice@mssm.edu

Megan K. Horton, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Preventive Medicine
Tel: 212-824-7038
megan.horton@mssm.edu

Alexander Kolevzon, MD
Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Pediatrics
Tel: 212-659-9134
alexander.kolevzon@mssm.edu

Robert S. Krauss, PhD
Professor, Developmental and Regenerative Biology and Oncological Sciences
Tel: 212-241-2177
robert.krauss@mssm.edu

Luca Lambertini, PhD
Instructor, Preventive Medicine
Tel: 212-824-7076
luca.lambertini@mssm.edu

Philip J. Landrigan, MD, MSc, DIH
Dean, Global Health
Chair and Professor, Preventive Medicine
Professor, Pediatrics
Tel: 212-824-7018
phil.landrigan@mssm.edu

Hirofumi Morishita, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Psychiatry, Opthamology, and Neurology
Tel: 212-824-8975
hirofumi.morishita@mssm.edu

Coro Paisan-Ruiz, PhD
Assistant Professor, Neurology, Psychiatry, and Genetics and Genomic Sciences
Tel: 212-241-0108
coro.paisan-ruiz@mssm.edu

Dalila Pinto, PhD
Assistant Professor, Psychiatry, and Genetics and Genomic Sciences
Tel: 212-824-8943
dalila.pinto@mssm.edu

Avraham Reichenberg, PhD
Professor, Psychiatry and Preventive Medicine
avi.reichenberg@mssm.edu

Andrew Sharp, PhD
Associate Professor, Genetics and Genomic Sciences
Tel: 212-659-8287
andrew.sharp@mssm.edu

Annemarie Stroustrup, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics and Preventive Medicine
Tel: 212-241-6186
annemarie.stroustrup@mssm.edu

Shanna H. Swan, PhD
Professor, Preventive Medicine
Tel: 212-824-7025
shanna.swan@mssm.edu

Robert O. Wright, MD, MPH
Deputy Director, Children’s Environmental Health Center
Professor, Preventive Medicine and Pediatrics
Tel: 212-854-7370
robert.wright@mssm.edu

Brian D. Brown, PhD
Assistant Professor, Genetics and Genomic Sciences, and Gene and Cell Medicine
Tel: 212-659-9202
brian.brown@mssm.edu

Ross L. Cagan, PhD
Associate Dean, Graduate School of Biological Sciences
Professor, Developmental and Regenerative Biology, Oncological Sciences, and Ophthalmology
Tel: 212-241-1427
ross.cagan@mssm.edu

Adolfo García-Ocaña, PhD
Professor, Medicine
Tel: 212-241-7429
adolfo.garcia-ocana@mssm.edu

Allan Just, PhD
Assistant Professor, Preventive Medicine
Tel: 212-824-7021
allan.just@mssm.edu

Ruth J.F. Loos, PhD
Professor, Preventive Medicine
Tel: 212-241-5025
ruth.loos@mssm.edu

Donald Scott, PhD
Professor, Medicine
Tel: 212-241-7429
donald.scott@mssm.edu

Susan Teitelbaum, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor, Preventive Medicine
Tel: 212-824-7105
susan.teitelbaum@mssm.edu

Rupangi Vasavada, PhD
Associate Professor, Medicine
Tel: 212-241-2839
rupangi.vasavada@mssm.edu

Martin J. Walsh, PhD
Associate Professor, Pediatrics and Structural and Chemical Biology
Tel: 212-241-9711
martin.walsh@mssm.edu

James J. Bieker, PhD
Professor, Developmental and Regenerative Biology
Tel: 212-241-4143
james.bieker@mssm.edu 

Dusan Bogunovic, PhD
Assistant Professor, Microbiology and Pediatrics
Tel: (212) 241-9807
dusan.bogunovic@mssm.edu

David Dunkin, MD
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Tel: 212-241-5415
david.dunkin@mssm.edu

Jaime Chu, MD
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Tel: 212-659-8060
jaime.chu@mssm.edu

Vilma Gabbay, MD
Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Neuroscience
Tel: 212-659-1661
vilma.gabbay@mssm.edu

Chris Gennings, PhD
Vice Chair, Research Design and Methodology
Professor, Preventive Medicine and Health Evidence and Policy
Tel: 212-824-7079
chris.gennings@mssm.edu

Valerie Gouon-Evans, PhD
Assistant Professor, Developmental and Regenerative Biology and Medicine
Tel: 212-241-4033
valerie.gouon-evans@mssm.edu

Nadia Micali, MD, MRCPsych, PhD, FAED
Associate Professor, Psychiatry
Tel: 212-659-8867
nadia.micali@mssm.edu

Michael Rendl, MD
Associate Professor, Developmental and Regenerative Biology and Dermatology
Tel: 212-241-9593
michael.rendl@mssm.edu

Jeffrey M. Saland, MD
Associate Professor, Pediatrics
Tel: 212-241-6187
jeff.saland@mssm.edu

Lisa Satlin, MD
Chair and Professor, Pediatrics
Professor, Medicine
Tel: 212-241-6187
lisa.satlin@mssm.edu

Eyal Shemesh, MD
Associate Professor, Pediatrics and Psychiatry
Tel: 212-241-6710
eyal.shemesh@mssm.edu

Jianlong Wang, PhD
Associate Professor, Developmental and Regenerative Biology
Tel: (212) 241-7425
jianlong.wang@mssm.edu

Birte Wistinghausen, MD
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Tel: 212-241-7022
birte.wistinghausen@mssm.edu