Awards and Deadlines

Robin Chemers Neustein Postdoctoral Fellowship

The Robin Chemers Neustein Postdoctoral Fellowship was established to encourage and support female research scientists at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai (ISMMS). The intent of the award is to help supplement current stipend/salary. The recipient must already be at ISMMS, should be a senior postdoctoral scientist who intends to complete her training within one to two years, and have demonstrated high impact accomplishments in the life sciences and the potential for an independent scientific career. An individual may receive this fellowship for only one year. One fellowship of $25,000 will be awarded in 2015 and the application deadline is May 15.

Applications will be accepted at any time before the due date. They must be submitted, in PDF format, to Theresa Scarabino and include the following:

  • Candidate's curriculum vitae
  • Candidate's statement of general research interests (maximum 1 page)
  • Sponsoring Scientist's NIH Biosketch
  • Statement of Research Project for the next 1-2 years (maximum 2 pages including title of project and references)
  • Up to four (4) publications

Two letters of recommendation (one from the sponsoring scientist) commenting on how the candidate’s research is novel, elegant, interdisciplinary and high impact, as well as the candidate's potential for an independent career in science.

The selection will be made by the Neustein Postdoctoral Fellowship Awards Committee comprised of faculty members chosen by the Dean of the Graduate School and CoSA. Upon selection, the recipients will be notified and an announcement will be sent to all Sponsoring Scientists who submitted applications. For more information, please contact the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs at x40380 or

Previous Robin Chemers Neustein Fellowship Award Winners

Travel Awards

These awards offer support for postdoctoral fellows unable to find sufficient funding through his/her PI or department to attend a conference specific to their area of study or a relevant interdisciplinary conference. Several awards of $500 each will be given two times a year. The first cycle covers conferences occurring between January and June and the Cycle 1 deadline is February 15 (accounts can be re-imbursed for travel occurring prior to the deadline). The second cycle covers conferences occurring between July and December and Cycle 2 deadline is August 15. Applications will be accepted at any time before the due date and must include: 1.  Name, PI lab, department, dates and location of conference, 2.  Title and abstract,  3. Tell us why you need to go to this conference (no more than ½ page), 4.  2 page CV, 5. Talk or poster?  Please send by email to the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs . Postdocs are eligible for only one award per year and award recipients must fill out a travel request form PRIOR to travel in SinaiCentral.

Basic Science Award

Each year one or two postdoctoral fellows are selected to receive the Basic Science Award for the Best Publication/s of the year. To qualify nominees must be current postdoctoral fellows, first author on the publication, and the paper being submitted for consideration must have been published in the last year. Postdoctoral nominations must be submitted by Department Chairs, and it is anticipated that Chairs will work closely with PIs to identify the most promising postdoctoral candidates. Self-nominations are not accepted. Awards are $500, and all nominations must be received in The Office of Postdoctoral Affairs by March 31. For more information, contact the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs at x40380 or

Postdoc Office Career Development Award

Each year, we make a small number of awards to cover registration for a workshop offered at the New York Academy of Sciences entitled, "Making the Leap: A Non-Academic Career Planning & Job Search Boot Camp." Announcements will be made several weeks prior to the workshop date, and applications can be sent to the Office of Postdoctoral affairs. To apply please send us a document (pdf or doc) with: your name, name of your PI/s, year of postdoctoral training;  a short outline of  your career goals; an estimate of when you will be entering the job market; and tell us why (in a half page or less) you would like to go to the workshop. Please also provide us with your current 2 page NIH-style Biosketch (see sample at Applicants must be current postdoctoral fellows at Mount Sinai and award recipients must register and attend. Submit applications to put "Boot Camp Application" in the subject line.

Postdoc Recognition Awards

Piloted in 2013, these awards serve to recognize and award postdocs who submit and receive significant national or internationally competitive fellowship awards for their postdoctoral training at Mount Sinai. Award winners are identified by Mount Sinai's Grants and Contracts office as having received new postdoctoral training fellowships during the calendar year, and winners are notified at the end of the year.

2013 Award Winners

Robin Chemers Neustein Postdoctoral Fellowship

Judith Agudo, Genetics and Genomics Sciences

Travel Award Winners 

Genis Campreios, Developmental & Regenerative Biology
Qian Huang, Psychiatry
Bryan Denny, Psychiatry
Rosemary Bagot, Neuroscience
Yuji Kajiwara, Psychiatry
Audrey Le, Neuroscience
Kevin Maringer, Microbiology
Eric Sweet, Neurology
Seungyeul Yoo, Genetics and Genomic Sciences
Muhammad Parvaz, Psychiatry
Ricky Joshi, Genetics and Genomic Sciences
Sebastian Aguirre, Microbiology        
Evren Azeloglu, Pharmacol/Sys Therap
Giovanna Collu, Develp/Regen Biology
Carlos Clavel, Develp/Regen Biology
Alicia Feagins, Microbiology        
Susumu Hirabayashi, Develp/Regen Biology
Ryan Langlois, Microbiology         
Nina Linde, Hematology/Oncology
Lara Manganaro, Microbiology        
Nicole McKnight, Neurology           
Sonia Mulero-Navarro, Molecular Cardl Inst
Guila Roda, Gastroenterology     
Miriam Sanso, Structural/Chem Bio

NYAS Workshop Scholarships

Merina Varghese, Neurology           
Giovanna Collu, Develp/Regen Biology
Muhammad Parvaz, Psychiatry           
Kamila Sip, Psychiatry          
Jeffrey Haines, Neurosciences       
Adriana Arita, Hematology/Oncology
Radhika Malik, Structural/Chem Bio
Audrey Le, Neurosciences         

Basic Science Award for Best Publication in 2012
Ryan Langlois, Microbiology

Best Postdoc Mentor Award
Ana Fernandez-Sesma, Microbiology

2012 Award winners