Message from the Director

Thank you for your interest in the Mount Sinai St. Luke’s, West and Beth Israel fellowship program in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine. This is an exciting time for us as we expand our faculty, clinical programs, curriculum, and research opportunities, taking advantage of the unique strengths at three hospitals in the Mount Sinai Health System. As Program Director, I am incredibly proud of our fellows and the commitment, enthusiasm and integrity that they bring to our community. 

I feel that we offer a unique opportunity to train in world-class settings in the heart of New York City. We care for an incredibly diverse patient population with a wide range of diseases across the three hospitals. Our fellows work directly with faculty experts in pulmonary hypertension, cystic fibrosis, sleep disorders, asthma, COPD, lung cancer, pulmonary physiology, pulmonary rehabilitation and palliative care. Our busy ICUs are staffed by dedicated educators who practice medicine at the cutting edge, incorporating interdisciplinary rounds, point-of-care ultrasound, patient safety and quality metrics.

The Divisions of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine at Mount Sinai St. Luke’s, West and Beth Israel have always been at the center of educational innovation. We are dedicated to a hands-on mastery learning approach to education by integrating simulation-based education with bedside learning and traditional didactics. This approach has led to our fellows developing expertise and teaching in the areas of airway management, code and RRT management, and point-of care ultrasound. Our core curriculum features a novel ‘flipped classroom’ structure that is highly engaging and fun for fellows and faculty alike. Our faculty is dedicated to the education of our fellows and helps to create a collegial and supportive learning environment.

We are committed to training physicians to become leaders in pulmonary and critical care medicine by integrating excellence in patient care, innovative education, research training and leadership opportunities. Once you complete the core requirements for certification by the American Board of Internal Medicine in both Pulmonary Diseases and Critical Care Medicine, we offer the flexibility to develop an individualized pathway to meet your career goals. Our fellows have used this time to advance their clinical expertise, develop teaching and leadership skills, and participate in system-wide quality improvement projects and complete scholarly projects.

We encourage you to take a closer look at our program. If you are pursuing a fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, we invite you to apply through ERAS. Those who visit us will immediately notice the strong sense of community and engagement in our fellows and faculty.

Sincerely, 

Paru Patrawalla, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Icahn School of Medicine

Paru Patrawalla, MD
Program Director
Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Training Program
Paru.Patrawalla@mountsinai.org

E. Mirna Mohanraj, MD
Associate Program Director
Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Training Program
edwardine.mohanraj@mountsinai.org

Rashida Callender
Program Coordinator
Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Training Program
rashida.callender@mountsinai.org

 

David Steiger, MD
Chief, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, Mount Sinai Beth Israel
Associate Professor
David.Steiger@mountsinai.org

Hassan Khouli, MD
Chief, Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine Division, Mount Sinai St. Luke's and Mount Sinai West
Professor
Hassan.Khouli@mountsinai.org

Antoine Abed, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor, Mount Sinai St. Luke's and Mount Sinai West
AAbed@chpnet.org

Alexandra Adams, MD
Assistant Professor, Mount Sinai Beth Israel
aladams@CHPNET.ORG

Alfredo Astua, MD
Director, Sleep Medicine, Mount Sinai Beth Israel
aastua@CHPNET.ORG

John Cardasis, MD
Assistant Professor
John.Cardasis@mountsinai.org

Edward Eden
Director, Physiology and Pulmonary Function Lab, Mount Sinai St. Luke's and Mount Sinai West
Professor
EEden@chpnet.org

Jason Filopei, MD
Mount Sinai Beth Israel
jfilopei@CHPNET.ORG

Joseph Ghassibi, MD
Assistant Professor, Mount Sinai St. Luke's and Mount Sinai West
Joseph.Ghassibi@mountsinai.org 

Molly (Mary) Harris, MD
Assistant Professor, Mount Sinai Beth Israel
mary.harris@mountsinai.org 

Raymonde Jean, MD
Director, Sleep Clinic, Mount Sinai West
Associate Director, Mount Sinai West Medical Intensive Care Unit
Associate Professor
rjean@chpnet.org

 

Susannah Kurtz, MD
Assistant Director, Center for Advanced Medical Simulation
Assistant Professor
Susannah.Kurtz@mountsinai.org 

Young Im Lee, MD
Director, Medical Intensive Care Unit, Mount Sinai Beth Israel
Assistant Professor
young.lee@mountsinai.org

Nan Li, MD
Mount Sinai Beth Israel
Nan.Li@mountsinai.org 

Joseph Mathew, MD
Associate Director, Center for Advanced Medical Simulation 
Co-Director, POC Ultrasound Program
Assistant Professor
jmathew@chpnet.org

Fulvia Milite, MD
Medical Director, Mount Sinai Sleep Wellness Center, Mineola, NY
Associate Director, Sleep Disorders Program
Assistant Professor
fmilite@chpnet.org

Albert Miller, MD
Director, Pulmonary Function Laboratory, Mount Sinai Beth Israel
Albert.Miller@mountsinai.org

E. Mirna Mohanraj, MD
Associate Program Director, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Program
Assistant Professor
Edwardine.Mohanraj@mountsinai.org 

Gopal Narayanswami, MD
Associate Director, Mount Sinai St. Lukes's Medical Intensive Care Unit
Co-Director, POC Ultrasound Program
Assistant Professor
Gopal.Narayanswami@mountsinai.org 

Mary O’Sullivan, MD
Director, Pulmonary Ambulatory Care Clinics
Director, Smoking Cessation Program
Assistant Professor
mosulli@chpnet.org

Keith Rose, MD
Associate Director, Critical Care, Mount Sinai West
Associate Director, Center for Advanced Medical Simulation
Assistant Professor
krose@chpnet.org

Mark Rosen, MD
Professor, Mount Sinai St. Luke's and Mount Sinai West
Clinical Director, Mount Sinai West Respiratory Institute
mark.rosen@mountsinai.org

Janet Shapiro, MD
Director, Mount Sinai St. Lukes's Medical Intensive Care Unit
Director, Quality Improvement Program
Associate Professor
jshapiro@chpnet.org

Andre Sotelo, MD
Assistant Director, Center for Advanced Medical Simulation
Assistant Professor
Andre.Sotelo@mountsinai.org 

Gerard Turino, MD
Founding Director, James P. Mara Center for Lung Disease
John H. Keating Professor of Medicine Emeritus, Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons
Professor
gturino@chpnet.org

Patricia Walker, MD 
Co-Director, Cystic Fibrosis Center at Mount Sinai Beth Israel
Assistant Professor
Patricia.Walker@mountsinai.org