Signature Event 2011

The Signature Event 2011, organized by Icahn School of Medicine's CMCA, was held on Thursday, October 20, 2011, at the New York Academy of Medicine in New York City. View Photo Gallery of the event.

Once again, former New York State First Lady Michelle Paige Paterson served as Honorary Chair. For the second year, Denise Ellison and Diane Fogg chaired the Dinner Committee. The Doctors' Committee was chaired by Mark Babyatsky, MD, and Reginald Miller, DVM, both of whom focused on gaining faculty participation for the event. We also featured an Alumni Committee chaired by Alicia Hurtado, MD, and Jacques Jospitre, MD, as well as a Student Committee chaired by Sarah Ann Anderson, MD/PhD Candidate.

The event was held primarily to increase awareness and highlight the work of Mount Sinai's CMCA, while recognizing the accomplishments of four individuals selected as honorees: Mark Nivet, EdD, from the Association of American Medical Colleges, recognized for leadership in diversity; Ray Cornbill, MBA, for leadership and commitment to service; Lynne Richardson, MD, FACEP, for leadership in healthcare; and Lloyd Sherman, EdD, for his exemplary work in leading pipeline efforts for Mount Sinai for more than 40 years.

Governor David Paterson, Michelle Paige Paterson, and New York City Councilman Dan R. Garodnick were VIP guests of The Signature Event. WNBC News Anchor DeMarco Morgan served as Master of Ceremonies. Mount Sinai leadership present at the event included Dennis Charney, MD, Dean of Icahn School of Medicine, and several Department Chairs including Josh Bederson, MD, Neurosurgery, David Reich, MD, Anesthesiology, and Mark Babyatsky, MD, Internal Medicine. Trustees attending included Chris Williams, Andrew Heineman, Patricia Levinson, and John Winkleman.

Dinner was preceded by a cocktail reception and a silent auction. A Cuban quartet played lively music during cocktails. After a welcome by Medical School Dean Dennis Charney, testimonials were made by three students: Che, a current college student; Arman-Toussaint Warner, a high school student; and Lanre Dokun, a fourth-year medical student. The four honorees received their awards during dinner, which was followed by a live auction featuring a special photograph of Andy Warhol taken by Lloyd Sherman's 99 year old mother.

A total of 220 guests were in attendance, including Mount Sinai faculty, staff and students, community members, representatives from New York Power Authority, Emblem Health, WNBCTV, Borough of Manhattan Community College, CUNY and Lehman College. Sponsor tables were purchased by many Mount Sinai Departments including Medicine, Neurosurgery, Anesthesiology, Emergency Medicine, and Health Evidence and Policy. And individual sponsor tables were purchased by Ray Cornbill, Diane and Blaine Fogg, Catherine Morrison Golden, Andrew Heineman and Bob and Pat Levinson.

Contact Us

Gary Butts, MD
Senior Associate Dean for Diversity Programs, Policy, and Community Affairs
Director, Center for Multicultural and Community Affairs
Tel: 212-241-8276
Fax: 212-241-3594
Send e-mail

Mailing Address:

Center for Multicultural and Community Affairs
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
One Gustave L. Levy Place
Box 1035
New York, NY 10029

Office Location:

Annenberg Building
21st Floor, Room 21-70
1468 Madison Avenue
New York, NY 10029


Center for Multicultural and Community Affairs