The Ombuds Office

The Ombuds office is a safe, informal, impartial, and strictly confidential place where students and postdoctoral fellows in the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, medical students at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, residents and fellows in the Graduate Medical Education programs, and faculty can freely discuss any issue of concern. The office functions independently of any organizational structure. Matters up for discussion can be personal or professional, and may include:

  • Academic or career concerns
  • Issues involving authorship or intellectual property
  • Conflicts with co-workers, mentors, supervisors, or other interpersonal issues
  • Harassment, discrimination, mistreatment, or any other unfair treatment
  • Uncertainty about or unfair application of a policy

While we strive to help you resolve problems, we cannot impose solutions. Our aim is to resolve conflict to the mutual satisfaction of all parties involved. We do not conduct formal investigations nor do we participate in any formal hearing or grievance process.

How We Can Help You

We are here to listen. The Ombuds is a neutral party who does not take sides. Together, we explore all options for swift resolution. Our goal is to help you to resolve conflict before problems escalate. We can offer advice, mediate disputes, facilitate meetings, or offer information for referral or additional Institutional resources--including appropriate channels for grievance or appeal. You control the process. The Ombuds will not act upon or initiate any process nor contact anyone on your behalf without your permission--except in rare situations involving the commission of a crime or the risk of imminent physical harm, in which cases we are bound by law to contact the proper authorities. To uphold privacy and confidentiality, we do not keep minutes or records of meetings or discussions. We report broad statistical information to the Dean of the Icahn School of Medicine, annually. However, we do not report names or identify specific cases.

Contact Us

To set up an appointment, please call us.

For Mount Sinai Health System Faculty

Deborah B. Marin, MD
Director
Blumenthal Professor of Psychiatry
Tel: 212-659-8848
e-mail: deborah.marin@mssm.edu

For Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows

George W. Huntley, PhD
Professor of Neuroscience
Tel: 212-824-8981
e-mail: george.huntley@mssm.edu  

For Medical Students

Helen Fernandez, MD
Associate Professor in the Brookdale Department of Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine
Tel: 212-659-8552
e-mail: helen.fernandez@mssm.edu

Kirk Campbell, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Tel: 212-241-6271
e-mail: kirk.campbell@mssm.edu    

For Residents and Fellows at The Mount Sinai Hospital

Joel Forman, MD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics and of Preventive Medicine
Tel: 212-241-6934
e-mail: joel.forman@mssm.edu

Kathleen Halton, MD
Associate Professor of Radiology
Tel: 212-241-4013
e-mail: kathleen.halton@mountsinai.org

For Residents and Fellows at Mount Sinai Beth Israel

Marlene Rackson, MD
Assistant Professor of Radiology
Tel: 212-420-4654
e-mail: mrackson@chpnet.org 

Stanley Yancovitz, MD
Clinical Professor of Medicine 
Tel: 212-420-2600
e-mail: syancovi@chpnet.org

For Residents and Fellows at Mount Sinai West and Mount Sinai St. Luke's

Jane Eisen, MD
Professor of Psychiatry
Tel: 212-523-5643
e-mail: jeisen@chpnet.org

Hassan Khouli, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Tel: 212-523-8914
e-mail: hkhouli@chpnet.org

For Residents and Fellows at New York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mount Sinai

Joseph M. Bernstein, MD, FACS, FAAP
Associate Professor of Otolaryngology
Tel: 646-438-7878
e-mail: jbernstein@nyee.edu

For Residents and Fellows at Elmhurst Hospital Center

Joseph Farraye, MD
Associate Professor of Neurology
Tel: 718-334-2794
e-mail: farrayej@nychhc.org

Lucy Gordon, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Tel: 718-334-2490
e-mail: gordonlu@nychhc.org

For Residents and Fellows at QueensHospital Center

Susan Sanelli-Russo, MD
Assistant Professor of Neurology
Tel: 718-883-4550
e-mail: sanellis@nychhc.org

Hagop Gorgissian, MD, FAPA
Assistant Clinical Professor of Psychiatry
Tel: 718-883-2249
e-mail: gorgissh@nychhc.org