Mentoring Champions

The Department of Medicine organizes mentoring leaders at the division level to meet the needs of the division’s junior faculty. Those division-level mentoring leaders are known as mentoring champions. These mentoring champions may serve on the mentoring committees for their division’s junior faculty, or act as an overseer, ensuring that junior faculty members find primary mentors within the division in a timely fashion.

The Office of Academic Development and Enrichment (OADE) relies on mentoring champions to support junior faculty by:

  • Ensuring junior faculty have mentors and that their divisional mentoring plans are in place, active, and ongoing
  • Disseminating information about OADE events relating to mentoring, career development, and other opportunities for junior faculty
  • Recommending junior faculty mentees for events and workshop opportunities
  • Providing OADE with insights into addressing unmet needs of junior faculty mentees, and working with the Office to develop resources that fill those gaps

Department

 Mentoring Champions

Email

Medicine - GI Division

James Marion, MD

James.Marion@mssm.edu

Medicine - Renal Division

Jamie Uribarri, MD

Jaime.Uribarri@mountsinai.org

Medicine - Hepatology

Scott Friedman, MD

Scott.Friedman@mssm.edu

Medicine - ID

Michael Mullen, MD

Michael.Mullen@mountsinai.org

Medicine - Hospital Medicine

Dennis Chang, MD

Dennis.Chang@mountsinai.org

Medicine - General Medicine

Jenny Lin, MD

Jenny.Lin@mountsinai.org

Medicine - Cardiology

Jagat Narula, MD

Jagat.Narula@mountsinai.org

Medicine - Rheumatology

Percio Gulko, MD

Percio.Gulko@mssm.edu

Medicine - Immunology

Charlotte Cunningham-Rundles,
MD, PhD

Charlotte.Cunningham-rundles@mssm.edu

Medicine - Pulmonary

Larry DiFibrizio, MD

Larry.Difabrizio@mountsinai.org

Medicine - Hem/Oncology

Janice Gabrilove, MD

Janice.Gabrilove@mssm.edu


Please contact Ramaa Chitale at Ramaa.Chitale@mssm.edu, regarding the following Department of Medicine divisions that do not currently have mentoring champions: Clinical Immunology, Diabetes, Bone Disease and Endocrinology, Digestive Diseases and Gastroenterology, Hematology and Medical Oncology, Infectious Diseases, Kidney Diseases, Liver Diseases, Lung Disease and Pulmonary Medicine.

OADE welcomes feedback and event ideas from mentoring leadership and others about the mentoring leader role.

To suggest a topic for an OADE event, please contact ramaa.chitale@mssm.edu.