Mentoring Leaders

Each department within the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai (ISMMS) has mentoring leaders whose role is to help junior faculty identify mentors, conduct personal and professional needs assessments, and define career goals.

A department may also customize the role of mentoring leader to fit the department’s junior faculty needs. Some mentoring leaders, especially in smaller departments, serve on the mentoring committees for their department's junior faculty. In larger departments, the mentoring leader may be an overseer, ensuring that junior faculty members find primary mentors within the department in a timely fashion.

The Office of Academic Development and Enrichment (OADE) relies on mentoring leaders to support junior faculty by:

  • Ensuring junior faculty have mentors and that their departmental mentoring plans are in place, active, and ongoing
  • Disseminating information about OADE events relating to mentoring, career development, and other opportunities for junior faculty
  • Recommending junior faculty mentees for events and workshop opportunities
  • Providing OADE with insights into addressing unmet needs of junior faculty mentees, and working with the Office to develop resources that fill those gaps

Department

Mentoring Leader

Email

Anesthesiology

James Eisenkraft, MD

James.Eisenkraft@mountsinai.org

Cardiothoracic Surgery

Anelechi Anyanwu, MD

Anelechi.Anyanwu@mountsinai.org

Comparative Med & Surg.

Reginald Miller, DVM

Reginald.Miller@mssm.edu

Dermatology

Jacob Levitt, MD

Jacob.Levitt@mountsinai.org

Developmental and Regenerative Biology

James J. Bieker, MD

James.Bieker@mssm.edu

Emergency Medicine

Andrew Jagoda, MD

Andy.Jagoda@mountsinai.org

Genetics and Genomic Sciences

Andrew Kasarskis, PhD

Andrew.Kasarskis@mssm.edu

Geriatrics & Palliative Medicine

Roseann Leipzig, MD, PhD

Rosanne.Leipzig@mssm.edu

Health System Design and Global Health

Prabhjot Singh

Prabhjot.Singh@mssm.edu

Health Evidence and Policy /
Population Health Science and Policy

Arthur Aufses, MD

Arthur.Aufses@mountsinai.org

Medical Education

David Muller, MD

David.Muller@mssm.edu

Medicine

Juan P. Wisnivesky, MD, MPH, and
David Thomas, MD

Juan.Wisnivesky@mountsinai.org
David.Thomas@mountsinai.org

Microbiology

Megan Shaw, PhD

Megan.Shaw@mssm.edu

Neuroscience

Patrick Hof, MD

Patrick.Hof@mssm.edu

Neurosurgery

Isabelle Germano, MD

Isabelle.Germano@mountsinai.org

Obstetrics/Gynecology &
Reproductive Science

Katherine Chen, MD, MPH

Katherine.Chen@mssm.edu

Oncological Sciences

Zhe-Qiang Pan, Ph.D.

Zhe-qiang.Pan@mssm.edu

Ophthalmology

Sandra Masur, PhD

sandra.masur@mssm.edu

Orthopedics

Michael Hausman, MD

Michael.Hausman@mountsinai.org

Otolaryngology

Satish Govindaraj

Satish.Govindaraj@mountsinai.org

Pediatrics

Lisa Satlin, MD

Lisa.Satlin@.mssm.edu

Pharmacological Sciences

Terry Ann Krulwich, PhD

Terry.Krulwich@mssm.edu

Preventive Medicine

Shanna Swan, PhD

Shanna.Swan@mssm.edu

Psychiatry

Joseph Buxbaum, PhD

Joseph.Buxbaum@mssm.edu

Radiation Oncology

Kenneth Rosenzweig, MD

Kenneth.Rosenzweig@mountsinai.org

Radiology

Zahi Fayad, PhD and Peter Som, MD

Peter.Som@mssm.edu
Zahi.Fayad@mssm.edu

Rehabilitation Medicine

Wayne Gordon, PhD

Wayne.Gordon@mountsinai.org

Structural and Chemical Biology

Aneel Aggarwal, PhD

Aneel.Aggarwal@mssm.edu

Surgery

Lester Silver, MD

Lester.Silver@mountsinai.org

Urology

Jeffrey Stock, MD

Jeffrey.Stock@mountsinai.org


If you have questions, regarding mentoring leaders for the departments of Neurology and Pathology, please contact Ramaa Chitale at Ramaa.Chitale@mssm.edu.