Each year, about twelve students from diverse backgrounds and hometowns come to New York City to join Mount Sinai’s MSTP. Since MD/PhD students are at Mount Sinai longer than most other graduate students and the dual-degree program comes with its own unique set of challenges, we make every effort to develop a strong community that will support every student throughout their journey. MD/PhDs are supported not only by MSTP preclinical and clinical advisors, but also by the full range of faculty advisors available to medical students. Furthermore, each incoming class, like the class of 2012 (pictured above), is paired with older students in the program who introduce them to the best ways to achieve success in their early years in the program. We also hold a yearly retreat for MD/PhDs to give students a chance to relax, socialize, present progress on their research and learn from faculty and invited medical scientists. Read more about Student Life

Retreat 2013

All current MSTP students are listed here by their year of matriculation, along with their undergraduate institution(s) and their laboratory and Multidisciplinary Training Area (MTA), if declared.


Marcus Badgeley (Ohio State University)
Mark Bailey (University of California–Berkeley)
Sandhya Chandrasekaran (California Institute of Technology)
Mark Chen (University of California–San Diego)
Fiona Desland (University of Florida)
Nicholas Heitman (University of Wisconsin)
Hope Kronman (Yale University)
Vincent Luo (Rutgers University)
Seshat Mack (Howard University)
Prashanth Rajarajan (Michigan State University)
Felix Richter (Northwestern University)
Cindy Tian (Brown University)


Philip Avigan (Columbia University)
Matthew Chambers (Utah State University)
Eduardo Contijoch (Princeton University)
Michael Daniel (University of California Los Angeles)
Helya Ghaffari (University of Maryland)
Matthew Hernandez (Brown University)
Kevin Hoffman (Haverford College)
Zachary Lorsch (Cornell University)
Andrew McKenzie (Vassar College)
Elisa Nabel (Harvard University)
Theodore Pak (Harvard University)
Ranjan Upadhyay (Columbia University)


Stephen Bohlman (Boston College)
Jennifer Diaz (University of Minnesota); Cagan Lab, CAB
Hyoungtae Kwon (Swarthmore College)
Benjamin Laitman (University of Pennsylvania); John Lab, NEU
Sean Lllewellyn (Brigham Young University); Esplugues Lab, IMM
Patrick Maffucci (New York University); Cunningham-Rundles Lab, IMM
Jaclyn Rabkin (Princeton University); Nestler Lab, NEU
Efrain Ribeiro (Wesleyan University); Nestler Lab, NEU
Joseph Scarpa (University of Virginia); Kasarskis/Schadt Lab, NEU
David Shiovitz (Columbia University)
Teddy-John Wohlbold (Rutgers University); Palese Lab, MIC
Chati-Lum Zony (University of Delaware); tenOever Lab, MIC


Kevin Barnum (University at Buffalo); Ghaffari Lab, DSCB
Tobias Cohen (Brown University); Tortorella Lab, MIC
Megan Cummins (Lafayette College); Sobie Lab, SBDT
Ryan Devenyi (Bowdoin College); Sobie Lab, SBDT
Rebecca Hamlin (Pomona College); Sesma Lab, MIC
Igor Katsyv (Johns Hopkins University); Gallo Lab, NEU
Yonit Lavin (Harvard University); Merad Lab, IMM
Douglas Mathern (University of Arizona); Dahn Lab, IMM
Michael L. Miller (SUNY Binghamton); Hurd Lab, NEU
Robert Rifkin (University of Maryland, Baltimore County); Blitzer Lab, NEU
Rajal Sharma (Northwestern University); Zhou/Walsh Labs, SMD


Kimberly Casten (Brown University); Shapiro Lab, NEU
Timothy Cashman (Bowdoin College); Costa Lab, DSCB
David Chiang (Stanford University); Berin Lab, IMM
Virginia Gao (Columbia University); Alberini Lab, NEU
Peter Goff (Middlebury College); Palese Lab, MIC
Mitra Heshmati (Johns Hopkins University); Russo Lab, NEU
Andrew Kent (University of Chicago); Blander, IMM
Peter Hongdau Liu (Caltech); Sidi Lab, CAB
Rachel Sennett (Haverford College); Rendl Lab, DSCB
Noa Simchoni (University of California-Los Angeles); Cunningham-Rundles Lab
Harish Vasudevan (Caltech); Soriano Lab, NEU


Jalal Ahmed (Columbia University); Merad Lab, PSB
Robert Chong (Princeton University); Pan Lab
Caroline Dias (Cornell University); Nestler Lab, NEU
Luis Duarte (University of Miami); Bernstein Lab, CAB
Jenny Dworzak (University of Washington); NIH Oxford-Cambridge GPP
Benjamin Goldman-Israelow (Washington University); Evans Lab, MIC
Jimmy Huynh (Johns Hopkins University); Casaccia Lab, GGS
Rebecca Josowitz (University of Richmond); Gelb Lab, GGS
Arielle Klepper (Cornell University); Branch Lab, IMM
Jeremy Price (University of Pennsylvania); Merad Lab, IMM
David Zhang (University of California-Berkeley); Friedman Lab, GGS
Shan Zhao (University of Rochester); Iyengar Lab, PSB


Sarah Ann Anderson (Xavier University); Hurd Lab, PSB
Jason Cook (Grinnell College); Ramirez Lab, PSB
Dailia Francis (CUNY Hunter); Sesma Lab, MIC
Julian Gingold (Harvard University); Lemischka Lab, DSCB
Vinitha Jacob (Princeton University); Edepli-Sadler Lab
Chaya Levovitz (Barnard College); Sachidanandam Lab, PSB
Jennifer Miller (Georgetown University); Merad Lab, IMM
Dac Nguyen (Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University); Hanss Lab, BSBB
Jay Pendse (Harvard University); Cagan Lab, PSB
Christopher Seibert (College of William); Palese Lab, MIC
Emir Senturk (Brown University); Martignetti Lab, CAB


David Braun (Princeton University); Sealfon Lab, PSB
Andrew Chow (New York University); Frenette/Merad Labs, IMM
Zahra Ghiassi-Nejad (New York University); Friedman Lab, DSCB
Michael Green (College of New Jersey); Snoeck Lab, DSCB
Thomas Hays (Penn State University); Klotman Lab, DSCB
Bridget Marcellino (Barnard College); Yue Lab, NEU
Jessica Nikitczuk (Rutgers University); Huntley Lab, NEU
Natalie Pica (Georgetown University); Palese Lab, MIC
Stephen Ros (Virginia Polytechnic University); Flatow Lab, PSB
Vivek Rudrapatna (Harvard University); Cagan Lab, DSCB
Yedidya Salman (Yeshiva College); Friedman Lab, PSB
Jedd Sereysky (University of Rochester); Flatow Lab, PSB
Madhav Sukumaran (Columbia University); McBain Lab (NIH GPP), NEU


Ittai Bushlin (University of Rochester); Devi Lab, NEU
James Castellano (Trinity College); Rapp Lab, NEU
Dru Imrie (University of Arizona); Edepli Lab, DSCB
Kimberly Kwei (Amherst College); Morrison Lab, NEU
Thomas LaRocca (University of California-Berkeley); Hajjar Lab, SBDT
Thomas Marron (University of Virginia); Cunningham-Rundles Lab, IMM
Mila Ortigoza (Claflin University); Palese/Shaw Labs, MIC
Taia Wang (New York University); Palese Lab, MIC


Dillon Chen (University of California); Alberini Lab, NEU
Ioanna Dumitriu (University of California); Morrison/Zhou Labs, NEU
Kester Haye (CUNY Brooklyn); Moran Lab, MIC
Ursula Lang (University of Washington); Friedman Lab, MDT
Maudry Laurent-Rolle (Long Island University); García-Sastre Lab; MIC
Gobind Singh (Boston University); Chan Lab; CAB


Tamar Katz (Harvard University); Tabin/Cliff Lab

Contact Us

Mount Sinai MD/PhD Program
One Gustave L. Levy Place, Box 1022
New York, NY 10029-6574

Tel: 212-241-6546
Fax: 212-241-0651
Send e-mail

Office Location
Annenberg 5th floor, Room A5-206
Hours of Operation: 9am-5pm, M-F