Microscopy CORE users who publish data either acquired or analyzed using facility equipment or services must include a facility acknowledgment in their publication. Please be sure to notify us of the acknowledgement once your paper has been accepted for publication as this information can aid in the justification of funding for new equipment purchases or expansion of services for the facility. See text below for specific acknowledgements based on specific equipment.

Olympus FV1000 MPE

Multiphoton microscopy was performed in the Microscopy CORE at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, supported with funding from NIH Shared Instrumentation Grant (1S10RR026639-01).

Spinning Disk Confocal

Spinning disk confocal microscopy was performed in the Microscopy CORE at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, supported with funding from NIH Shared Instrumentation Grant (1S10RR024745-01A1).

Acknowledgement for Other Equipment

Microscopy and/or image analysis was performed at the Microscopy CORE at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai


Co-authorship on publications for Microscopy CORE staff may be considered appropriate depending on the level of contribution. Contributions that merit authorship include a significant role in planning the studies, writing the manuscript, and other essential roles involving unique skills. The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) guidelines recommend that each author have responsibility for at least one component of the work, and that all authors approve the final version. Listing the explicit contributions of each author, as many journals currently require, is indeed a valuable and recommended method for disclosing and clarifying the rationale for the inclusion and order of authors. The contributions of colleagues or collaborators whose participation does not warrant authorship should be acknowledged.*

*ISMMS Faculty Handbook

Recent Publications

Bardot, E. S., V. J. Valdes, J. Zhang, C. N. Perdigoto, S. Nicolis, S. A. Hearn, J. M. Silva and E. Ezhkova (2013). "Polycomb subunits Ezh1 and Ezh2 regulate the Merkel cell differentiation program in skin stem cells." EMBO J 32(14): 1990-2000.

Das, S., E. Sarrou, S. Podgrabinska, M. Cassella, S. K. Mungamuri, N. Feirt, R. Gordon, C. S. Nagi, Y. Wang, D. Entenberg, J. Condeelis and M. Skobe (2013). "Tumor cell entry into the lymph node is controlled by CCL1 chemokine expressed by lymph node lymphatic sinuses." J Exp Med 210(8): 1509-1528.

Gentle, M. E., S. Shi, I. Daehn, T. Zhang, H. Qi, L. Yu, V. D. D'Agati, D. O. Schlondorff and E. P. Bottinger (2013). "Epithelial cell TGFbeta signaling induces acute tubular injury and interstitial inflammation." J Am Soc Nephrol 24(5): 787-799.

Hatami, R., A. M. Sieuwerts, S. Izadmehr, Z. Yao, R. F. Qiao, L. Papa, M. P. Look, M. Smid, J. Ohlssen, A. C. Levine, D. Germain, D. Burstein, A. Kirschenbaum, A. DiFeo, J. A. Foekens and G. Narla (2013). "KLF6-SV1 drives breast cancer metastasis and is associated with poor survival." Sci Transl Med 5(169): 169ra112.

Howarth, D. L., C. Yin, K. Yeh and K. C. Sadler (2013). "Defining hepatic dysfunction parameters in two models of Fatty liver disease in zebrafish larvae." Zebrafish 10(2): 199-210.

Lane, R. F., J. W. Steele, D. Cai, M. E. Ehrlich, A. D. Attie and S. Gandy (2013). "Protein sorting motifs in the cytoplasmic tail of SorCS1 control generation of Alzheimer's amyloid-beta peptide." J Neurosci 33(16): 7099-7107.

Morrison, J., M. Laurent-Rolle, A. M. Maestre, R. Rajsbaum, G. Pisanelli, V. Simon, L. C. Mulder, A. Fernandez-Sesma and A. Garcia-Sastre (2013). "Dengue virus co-opts UBR4 to degrade STAT2 and antagonize type I interferon signaling." PLoS Pathog 9(3): e1003265.

Purushothaman, K. R., P. Krishnan, M. Purushothaman, J. Wiley, C. L. Alviar, F. J. Ruiz, Y. Zubatov, A. S. Kini, S. K. Sharma, V. Fuster and P. R. Moreno (2013). "Expression of angiotensin-converting enzyme 2 and its end product angiotensin 1-7 is increased in diabetic atheroma: implications for inflammation and neovascularization." Cardiovasc Pathol 22(1): 42-48.

Ramos, I., E. Carnero, D. Bernal-Rubio, C. W. Seibert, L. Westera, A. Garcia-Sastre and A. Fernandez-Sesma (2013). "Contribution of double-stranded RNA and CPSF30 binding domains of influenza virus NS1 to the inhibition of type I interferon production and activation of human dendritic cells." J Virol 87(5): 2430-2440.

Romer, A. I., J. Singh, S. Rattan and R. S. Krauss (2013). "Smooth muscle fascicular reorientation is required for esophageal morphogenesis and dependent on Cdo." J Cell Biol 201(2): 309-323.

Serysheva, E., H. Berhane, L. Grumolato, K. Demir, S. Balmer, M. Bodak, M. Boutros, S. Aaronson, M. Mlodzik and A. Jenny (2013). "Wnk kinases are positive regulators of canonical Wnt/beta-catenin signalling." EMBO Rep 14(8): 718-725.

Sourisseau, M., M. L. Michta, C. Zony, B. Israelow, S. E. Hopcraft, C. M. Narbus, A. Parra Martin and M. J. Evans (2013). "Temporal analysis of hepatitis C virus cell entry with occludin directed blocking antibodies." PLoS Pathog 9(3): e1003244.

Vijayaraghavan, S., R. Huq, M. R. Hausman (2013). "Methods of peripheral nerve tissue preparation for second harmonic generation imaging of collagen fibers." Methods. Available online 17 August 2013, ISSN 1046-2023.

Yang, Y., Z. Wang, H. Yang, L. Wang, S. R. Gillespie, J. M. Wolosin, A. M. Bernstein and P. S. Reinach (2013). "TRPV1 Potentiates TGFbeta-Induction of Corneal Myofibroblast Development through an Oxidative Stress-Mediated p38-SMAD2 Signaling Loop." PLoS One 8(10): e77300.

Zhu, L., M. Zhong, J. Zhao, H. Rhee, I. Caesar, E. Knight, L. Volpicelli-Daley, V. Bustos, W. Netzer, L. Liu, L. Lucast, M. Ehrlich, N. K. Robakis, S. E. Gandy and D. Cai (2013). "Reduction of synaptojanin 1 accelerates Abeta clearance and attenuates cognitive deterioration in an Alzheimer mouse model." J Biol Chem 288(44): 32050-63.

Contact Us

Annenberg Building, Room 18-250
1468 Madison Avenue
New York, NY 10029

Deanna L. Benson, PhD
Professor of Neuroscience
Tel: 212-824-8974
Send e-mail

Nikos Tzavaras, PhD
Senior Associate Researcher
Tel: 212-241-3906
Send email

William Janssen
Senior Scientist
Send email

Javier Bravo-Cordero
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Hematology and Medical Oncology
Send email

Crystal Pristell
Associate Researcher
Tel: 212-241-0400
Send e-mail

Reserve Microscope Time:
Reserve now (Registered Users Only)

New User Form

User Authorization Form [PDF]

iLab Reservation