Signature Event 2012

The Signature Event 2012, organized by Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai's Center for Multicultural and Community Affairs (CMCA) was held on Thursday, November 15, 2012 at The New York Academy of Medicine in New York City.

Former First Lady, Michelle Paige served, once again, as Honorary Chair. For the third year, Denise Ellison chaired the Dinner Committee. The Doctors' Committee was chaired by Lakshmi Devi PhD, Terry Krulwich PhD, Ramon Murphy MD, David Muller MD, and Lynne Richardson MD FACEP, who focused on gaining faculty participation for the event. We also featured an Alumni Committee chaired, for the second year, by Alicia Hurtado MD, and Jacques Jospitre, MD, and a Student Committee chaired by Anthony L. Melendez RN, Christian Pean MS, and Ann-Marcia Tukpah MPH.

Dedicated to the memory of one of our 2011 honorees, Lloyd R. Sherman EdD, the event was held to increase awareness and highlight the work of Mount Sinai's CMCA, while recognizing the accomplishments of four individuals selected as honorees: Marilyn F. Booker, Managing Director at Morgan Stanley Urban Markets Group for her dynamic role in promoting diversity in the Corporate marketplace; David C. Banks of the Eagle Academy Foundation for distinguished community service; Michael L. Marin MD, FACS for leadership in healthcare and Edward J. Ronan PhD, for leadership and commitment to service throughout his career at Mount Sinai.

We were joined this year by WNBC News Anchor Lynda Baquero, who served as Master of Ceremonies. Mount Sinai leadership present at the event included Dennis S. Charney MD, Dean of Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. Many more Department Chairs and program directors took sponsor tables this year; MSSM Health Evidence and Policy (Dr. Gelijns); Terry Krulwich PhD; Michael L. Marin MD (Dept. of surgery took 2 tables); Department of Medical Education (David Muller, MD); Dept. of Anesthesiology (David Reich MD); Dept. of Emergency Medicine (Lynne D. Richardson MD, FACEP). Outside Organizations such as David Banks (Eagle Academy Foundation) and CUNY also took tables. Individuals who took Sponsor tables include Ray Cornbill, Andy Heineman, Pat and Bob Levinson and Catherine Morrison Golden. Trustees attending included Catherine Morrison Golden, Carla Harris, Andrew Heineman, Lewis P. Jones, Patricia Levinson, and John Winkleman.

Dinner was preceded by a cocktail reception and a silent auction. A Jazz quartet "The Vault" played lively music during cocktails. After a welcome by Medical School Dean Dennis Charney, Anthony Melendez (Student Committee co-chair), Alicia Hurtado and Jacques Jospitre (Alum Committee chairs) talked about the impact CMCA has had in supporting and shaping their personal and professional lives and the many doors it has opened for them.

A total of 230 guests were in attendance, including Mount Sinai faculty, staff and students, community members, representatives from New York Power Authority, Emblem Health, WNBCTV, Borough of Manhattan Community College, and CUNY.

Contact Us

Gary Butts, MD
Senior Associate Dean for Diversity Programs, Policy, and Community Affairs
Director, Center for Multicultural and Community Affairs
Tel: 212-241-8276
Fax: 212-241-3594
Send e-mail

Mailing Address:

Center for Multicultural and Community Affairs
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
One Gustave L. Levy Place
Box 1035
New York, NY 10029

Office Location:

Annenberg Building
21st Floor, Room 21-70
1468 Madison Avenue
New York, NY 10029


Center for Multicultural and Community Affairs