Faculty and Staff

All surgeons in the Division are board certified members of the American Board of Surgery, with additional specialized training in surgical oncology. Each surgeon on our team further specializes in the treatment of a select group of malignancies. As a result, each patient receives clinical care tailored to his or her individual needs.

The Division's faculty has expertise in treating:

  • Breast disease (both benign and malignant)
  • Colon and rectal cancer
  • Gastric and esophageal malignancies
  • Hepatobiliary disease
  • Melanoma and sarcoma (extremity or retroperitoneal)
  • Neuroendocrine tumors
  • Pancreatic tumors
  • Primary and metastatic liver tumors

Our faculty also has experience and expertise performing many operations with minimal access techniques (such as laparoscopy and radiofrequency ablation).

The Division is among nation's leaders in developing and implementing hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy (HIPEC) treatment.

Daniel Labow, MD
Associate Professor of Surgery, Surgical Oncology
Fellowship Program Director

Spiros Hiotis, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Surgery, Oncological Sciences

Umut Sarpel, MD
Associate Professor of Surgery, Surgical Oncology

David Lee, MD
Assistant Professor of Surgery, Surgical Oncology

Randall Owen, MD
Associate Professor of Surgery, Head and Neck, Endocrine

Elisa R. Port, MD
Associate Professor of Surgery

Paul Hank Schmidt, MD
Assistant Professor of Surgery

Christina Weltz, MD
Assistant Professor of Surgery, Surgical Oncology

Contact Us

Daniel Labow, MD
Program Director
Tel: 212-241-2891
Fax: 212-241-1572
Send e-mail

Catalina Gonzalez
Fellowship Coordinator
Tel: 212-241-2931
Send e-mail

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Fellowship Training Program in Surgical Oncology
One Gustave L. Levy Place
Box 1259
New York, NY 10029