Doris Duke Charitable Foundation Clinical Research Fellowship (CRF) Program for Medical Students

Fellows

DDCRF Class of 2011-2012

 

Cara Bergamo

Mentor: Juan Wisnivesky, MD, DrPH, Department of Medicine/Pulmonary
Project: Evaluating Disparities in Lung Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment among Patients with Schizophrenia
E-mail: cara.bergamo@mssm.edu

 


Demetri Blanas

Mentor: Carol Horowitz, MD, Department of Health Evidence and Policy
Project: Improving HIV Screening Rates and follow-up among African-born Residents of NYC
E-mail: demetri.blanas@mssm.edu

 


Edward Chu

Mentor: Celia Divino, MD, Department of Surgery
Project: The Evaluation of Clopidogrel Use in Peri-Operative General Surgery Patients
E-mail: edward.chu@mssm.edu

 


Lauren Levy

Mentor: Andrew Sikora, MD, PhD, Departments of Otolaryngology, Immunology, Oncological Science and Dermatology
Project: In Vivo Multimodal Imaging of Upper Aerodigestive Epithelium
E-mail: lauren.levy@mssm.edu

 


Andrea Matho

Mentor: Joseph D. Buxbaum, PhD, Departments of Psychiatry, Genetics and Genomic Science and Neuroscience
Project: Molecular Genetics of Schizophrenia: A Model for Neuroprogenitor Cell Gene Expression Using Human Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells
E-mail: andrea.matho@mssm.edu

 


Chang Park

Mentors: David Reich, MD, Dept. of Anesthesiology
Jeffrey H. Silverstein, MD, Depts. of Anesthesiology, Geriatrics & Palliative Medicine and Surgery Gregory Fischer, MD, Depts. of Anesthesiology and Cardiothoracic Surgery
Project: Optimizing Cerebral Oxygenation in Cardiac Surgery
E-mail: chang.park@mssm.edu

 


Alexander Small

Mentor: William Oh, MD, Depts. of Medicine/Hematology, Medical Oncology and Urology
Project: Isolation of Circulating Tumor Cells in Genitourinary Cancers
E-mail: alexander.small@mssm.edu

 


Lauren Steele

Mentor: M. Cecilia Berin, PhD, Depts. of Pediatrics, Allergy and Immunology
Project: Oral Immunotherapy: Modifying the Immune Response to Food Antigen
E-mail: lauren.steele@mssm.edu