Rheumatology Fellowship at The Mount Sinai Hospital

The Rheumatology Fellowship is a two-year training program that is based at the Mount Sinai Health System.  Trainees encounter a diverse spectrum of clinical rheumatology in both the inpatient and ambulatory settings, and our teaching faculty includes outstanding clinicians and leading researchers.  Members of our faculty have diverse backgrounds, thus providing our trainees with the mentorship and opportunities needed to fulfill their career goals – in academic medicine, as physician-scientists or clinical educators, or in clinical practice.

Applicants to the program will usually have completed two or three years of Internal Medicine, and should be board eligible by the end of the first year of fellowship.  During the first year, trainees will focus on attaining clinical proficiency, and in the second year, clinical investigation or basic science research will be emphasized.  A third year of research training may be offered to fellows who demonstrate commitment and distinction.  

Our rigorous curriculum provides a thorough training in the treatment of all rheumatological conditions in both an inpatient and outpatient setting. Please click here for more information about schedules, conferences, and our curriculum.

Learn more

Second Year Fellow 

Weiwei (Wendy) Chi, MD
MD Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, NY
Residency, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, NY 

Jennifer Ben Shimol, MD
MD SUNY Downstate College of Medicine, Brooklyn, NY
Residency, Albert Einstein College of Medicine/Montefiore Medical Center, Bronx, NY

First Year Fellows

Emilie Chan, MD
MD Medicine Residency at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, NY

Anna Kazaryan, MD
MD Medicine Residency at Northwell Health, Manhasset, NY


Micaela Bayard, MD (2015-2017) - 

Daniel Bunker, MD (2014-2016) - Georgetown University Hospital

Nana Jinjolava, MD (2014-2016) - St. Barnabas, Bronx, NY

Anil Mankee, MD (2013-2015)

Deepika Arora, MD (2012-2014)                   

Kelly Johnson-Steed, MD (2012-2014)

Janet Mapa-Bartov, MD (2011-2013)          

Manika Zeri, MD (2011-2013)           

Zain Abideen, MD (2010-2012)                     

Ruchi Jain, MD (2009-2011)             

Okey Oparanaku, MD (2009-2011)              

Suma Dasari, MD (2008-2010) - Faculty, Icahn School of Medicine      

Olivia Ghaw, MD (2007-2009) - Faculty, Icahn School of Medicine

Gisela Zapata-Arroyo, MD (2006-2008)        

Waseem Mir, MD (2006-2008)          

Vandana Singh, MD (2005-2007)      

Jenny Diep, MD (2004-2006) - Clinical Faculty, Icahn School of Medicine

The Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai rheumatology program participates in the NRMP Specialties Matching Service.  Applications are made though the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS) Fellowship Applicant Site.

For questions about the curriculum, contact:

Margrit Wiesendanger, MD, PhD, Program Director

For administrative questions, contact:

Dayana Ruiz


All fellowships begin July 1.  We will review all new, completed applications submitted through September 15, and interviews will be offered to selected applicants.