Excellence in Teaching Awards

The Institute’s Excellence in Teaching Awards ceremony is held annually to honor outstanding faculty across our teaching community. These awards acknowledge the exceptional faculty, trainees, and staff of our medical and graduate schools who embody the principles of excellence in teaching. Honorees in the past include students, residents, and faculty who went above and beyond in their teaching, development of curriculum, and ways to assess our success. Teaching Awards serve as a key measurement of the exceptional quality of teaching and mentoring skills. Formal recognition not only improves faculty vitality, but it is also valuable in the promotions process.

In addition to several teaching awards, we offer two additional prestigious awards to recognize innovation and career achievement in medical education.

The Dr. Nathan Kase Innovations in Medical Education Award: Named in honor of Dr. Kase, a forward-thinking innovator in his design of the Humanities and Medicine Program at The Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai over 25 years ago, an inspirational voice encouraging new educational approaches and a committed supporter of educators and education here at the institution. Students, residents, faculty or staff who have developed creative and innovative programs in curriculum, assessment and mentoring to enhance the educational experiences of their learners are eligible for this award.

The Dr. Arthur H. Aufses, Jr. Career Achievement Award in Medical Education: Named in honor of Dr. Aufses, a dedicated teacher at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai for over 50 years, a passionate advocate for life-long learning and a beloved member of the Mount Sinai teaching and learning family. Faculty who have demonstrated exceptional teaching ability and a long-standing commitment to advancing the teaching mission of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai are eligible for this award. Applicants are generally senior faculty who are viewed by all as having dedicated much of their career to becoming a leader in the field of education and mentoring others to achieve the same.

Nominations for all awards are solicited in advance of the event each year and a committee of faculty and IME members selects the winners. In recent years, the number of nominations has increased dramatically and we hope those numbers continue to rise so that we may adequately recognize the talent and dedication of our finest educators.

The call for 2016 nominations opens on February 8th and closes on March 14th. The ceremony will be held on June 9th in the Hatch Auditorium. Please contact Margaret Suppa at Margaret.Suppa@mssm.edu if you have any questions or are interested in nominating a colleague.

Contact Us

Institute for Medical Education
Tel: 212-241-7079
Send e-mail