Research Laboratories

Our primary faculty members are professors who teach and conduct research and whose primary appointment is in the Department of Pharmacological Sciences. Here is a list of our primary faculty research laboratories:

Avena Laboratory

Focusing on empirical evidence for food addiction, preclinical and clinical findings

Bechhofer Laboratory

Exploring post-transcriptional regulation of bacterial gene expression

Birtwistle Laboratory

Concentrating on single-cell cancer systems biology

Blitzer Laboratory

Studying regulation of translation in long-term potentiation

Devi Laboratory

Focusing on neuropeptides, opiate receptor signal transduction and narcotic addiction

DeVita Laboratory

Looking at drug discovery and development

Han Laboratory

Studying molecular and cellular mechanisms of depression and alcohol addiction

Iyengar Laboratory

Focusing on systems biology and systems pharmacology

Kenny Laboratory

Concentrating on behavioral and molecular neuroscience

Krulwich Laboratory

Looking at ion-coupled bacterial transporters with roles in OXPHOS, pH homeostasis and antibiotic-resistance

Lazarus Laboratory

Studying energy homeostasis in disease using chemical biology

Lemischka Laboratory

Examining stem cell biology

Ma'ayan Laboratory

Investigating computational systems biology, applying graph theory, data mining and machine learning

Maze Laboratory

Analyzing chromatin regulatory mechanisms of neural plasticity and disease

Neves Laboratory

Evaluating dopamine signaling in depression

Ramirez Laboratory

Focusing on connective tissue pathophysiology and genetic control of morphogenesis

Schaniel Laboratory

Examining reprogramming, disease modeling and therapeutics with pluripotent stem cells

Schlessinger Laboratory

Researching structural pharmacology of membrane transporters

Sobie Laboratory

Examining systems biology of cardiac arrhythmias