Division of Psychotherapy

The Division of Psychotherapy at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai comprises more than 50 faculty members whose collective practice experience enriches the educational, clinical, and research programs of the Department of Psychiatry. Our interdisciplinary group (MDs, PhDs, MSWs, and others) holds two open weekly conferences during the academic year at which members and invited clinicians, scholars, and scientists from within and beyond the Mount Sinai Health System present their best work for critical appraisal.

Faculty members engage in individual supervision, teaching, and mentoring of residents and other trainees in a variety of behavioral, psychological, biological, forensic, and newer contemporary modalities (individual, couple, family, group, and sex therapy among them). We facilitate process groups for psychiatry residents, and lead support groups for emergency medicine residents, child and adolescent fellows, and medical students in the wider Mount Sinai community. Our division provides scholarships for resident education at national and regional group psychotherapy training programs.

Practitioners provide care for patients from the institution, and many are available for reduced-fee treatments across the age range and modalities. We annually offer the Louis Linn, MD Award for Outstanding Teaching, and support the periodic Aaron Stein Visiting Professorship to bring in an outstanding clinician/scholar/scientist for a full day on campus.

We are dedicated to clinical, educational, and research missions across the full spectrum of psychotherapy modalities.


Philip B. Luloff MD, LFAPA, CLMAGPA
Director, Division of Psychotherapy 
Associate Clinical Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
(212) 757-6650

Hillel I. Swiller, MD, DLFAPA, LFAGPA
Director Emeritus, Division of Psychotherapy
Clinical Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai 
(212) 534-5588