Mentoring Leaders

Each department within the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai (ISMMS) has mentoring leaders whose role is to help junior faculty identify mentors, conduct personal and professional needs assessments, and define career goals.

A department may also customize the role of mentoring leader to fit the department’s junior faculty needs. Some mentoring leaders, especially in smaller departments, serve on the mentoring committees for their department's junior faculty. In larger departments, the mentoring leader may be an overseer, ensuring that junior faculty members find primary mentors within the department in a timely fashion.

The Office of Academic Development and Enrichment (OADE) relies on mentoring leaders to support junior faculty by:

  • Ensuring junior faculty have mentors and that their departmental mentoring plans are in place, active, and ongoing
  • Disseminating information about OADE events relating to mentoring, career development, and other opportunities for junior faculty
  • Recommending junior faculty mentees for events and workshop opportunities
  • Providing OADE with insights into addressing unmet needs of junior faculty mentees, and working with the Office to develop resources that fill those gaps


Mentoring Leader



James Eisenkraft, MD

Cardiothoracic Surgery

Anelechi Anyanwu, MD

Comparative Med & Surg.

Reginald Miller, DVM


Jacob Levitt, MD

Developmental and Regenerative Biology

James J. Bieker, MD

Emergency Medicine

Andrew Jagoda, MD

Genetics and Genomic Sciences

Andrew Kasarskis, PhD

Geriatrics & Palliative Medicine

Roseann Leipzig, MD, PhD

Medical Education

David Muller, MD


Juan P. Wisnivesky, MD, MPH, and
David Thomas, MD


Megan Shaw, PhD


Patrick Hof, MD


Isabelle Germano, MD

Obstetrics/Gynecology &
Reproductive Science

Katherine Chen, MD, MPH

Oncological Sciences

Zhe-Qiang Pan, Ph.D.


Sandra Masur, PhD


Michael Hausman, MD


Satish Govindaraj


Lisa Satlin, MD

Preventive Medicine

Shanna Swan, PhD


Joseph Buxbaum, PhD

Radiation Oncology

Kenneth Rosenzweig, MD


Zahi Fayad, PhD and Peter Som, MD

Rehabilitation Medicine

Wayne Gordon, PhD

Structural and Chemical Biology

Aneel Aggarwal, PhD


Lester Silver, MD


Jeffrey Stock, MD

If you have questions, regarding mentoring leaders for the departments of Neurology, Pathology, Health System Design/Global Health or Health Evidence and Policy/Population Health Science and Policy, please contact Corinne Johnson at