Mentoring Leaders

Each department within the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai (ISMMS) has mentoring leaders whose role is to help junior faculty identify mentors, conduct personal and professional needs assessments, and define career goals.

A department may also customize the role of mentoring leader to fit the department’s junior faculty needs. Some mentoring leaders, especially in smaller departments, serve on the mentoring committees for their department's junior faculty. In larger departments, the mentoring leader may be an overseer, ensuring that junior faculty members find primary mentors within the department in a timely fashion.

The Office of Academic Development and Enrichment (OADE) relies on mentoring leaders to support junior faculty by:

  • Ensuring junior faculty have mentors and that their departmental mentoring plans are in place, active, and ongoing
  • Disseminating information about OADE events relating to mentoring, career development, and other opportunities for junior faculty
  • Recommending junior faculty mentees for events and workshop opportunities
  • Providing OADE with insights into addressing unmet needs of junior faculty mentees, and working with the Office to develop resources that fill those gaps

Department

Mentoring Leader

Email

Anesthesiology

James Eisenkraft, MD

Samuel DeMaria Jr., MD

James.Eisenkraft@mountsinai.org

Samuel.Demariajr@mountsinai.org 

Cardiovascular Surgery

Anelechi Anyanwu, MD

Anelechi.Anyanwu@mountsinai.org

Comparative Med & Surg.

Jonathan Cohen, MD

Jonathan.Cohen@mssm.edu 

Dermatology

Jacob Levitt, MD

Jacob.Levitt@mountsinai.org

Developmental and Regenerative Biology

James J. Bieker, MD

James.Bieker@mssm.edu

Diagnostic, Molecular, and

Interventional Radiology

Peter Som, MD

Bachir Taouli, MD

Peter.Som@mountsinai.org

Bachir.Taouli@mountsinai.org  

Emergency Medicine

Andrew Jagoda, MD

Andy.Jagoda@mountsinai.org

Environmental Medicine and Public Health

Robert Wright, MD

Robert.Wright@mssm.edu  

Family Medicine and Community Health

Victor Sta. Ana, MD

Victor.Staana@mountsinai.org 

Genetics and Genomic Sciences

Inga Peter, PhD

Inga.Peter@mssm.edu 

Geriatrics & Palliative Medicine

Amy Kelley, MD

Amy.Kelley@mssm.edu 

Medical Education

David Muller, MD

David.Muller@mssm.edu

Medicine

Benjamin Chen, MD

Michelle Kim, MD

Jenny Lin, MD

Benjamin.Chen@mssm.edu

Michelle.Kim@mssm.edu

Jenny.Lin@mountsinai.org

Microbiology

Ana Fernandez-Sesma, PhD

Benhur Lee, MD

Ana.Sesma@mssm.edu

Benhur.Lee@mssm.edu 

Neuroscience

Anne Schaefer, MD, PhD

Anne.Schaefer@mssm.edu 

Neurosurgery

Isabelle Germano, MD

Isabelle.Germano@mountsinai.org

Obstetrics/Gynecology &
Reproductive Science

Katherine Chen, MD, MPH

Katherine.Chen@mssm.edu

Oncological Sciences

Zhe-Qiang Pan, PhD

Zhe-qiang.Pan@mssm.edu

Ophthalmology

Sandra Masur, PhD

sandra.masur@mssm.edu

Orthopedics

Michael Hausman, MD

Michael.Hausman@mountsinai.org

Otolaryngology

Satish Govindaraj, MD

Satish.Govindaraj@mountsinai.org

Pathology

Maria Isabel Fiel, MD

Mariaisabel.Fiel@mountsinai.org 

Pediatrics

Lisa Satlin, MD

John Bucuvalas, MD

Lisa.Satlin@.mssm.edu

John.Bucuvalas@mssm.edu 

Pharmacological Sciences

Aneel Aggarwal, PhD

Aneel.Aggarwal@mssm.edu 

Psychiatry

Joseph Buxbaum, PhD

Joseph.Buxbaum@mssm.edu

Radiation Oncology

Kenneth Rosenzweig, MD

Kenneth.Rosenzweig@mountsinai.org

Rehabilitation Medicine

Wayne Gordon, PhD

Wayne.Gordon@mountsinai.org

Surgery

Lester Silver, MD

Celia Divino, MD

Lester.Silver@mountsinai.org

Celia.Divino@mountsinai.org 

Thoracic Surgery

Andrea Wolf, MD

Andrea.Wolf@mountsinai.org 

Urology

Jeffrey Stock, MD

Jeffrey.Stock@mountsinai.org


If you have questions, regarding mentoring leaders for the departments of Neurology, Health System Design/Global Health or Health Evidence and Policy/Population Health Science and Policy, please contact Corinne Johnson at Corinne.Johnson@mssm.edu