Rheumatology Fellowship at The Mount Sinai Hospital

The Rheumatology Fellowship is a two-year training program that is based at the Mount Sinai Health System.  Trainees encounter a diverse spectrum of clinical rheumatology in both the inpatient and ambulatory settings, and our teaching faculty includes outstanding clinicians and leading researchers.  Members of our faculty have diverse backgrounds, thus providing our trainees with the mentorship and opportunities needed to fulfill their career goals – in academic medicine, as physician-scientists or clinical educators, or in clinical practice.

Applicants to the program will usually have completed two or three years of Internal Medicine, and should be board eligible by the end of the first year of fellowship.  During the first year, trainees will focus on attaining clinical proficiency, and in the second year, clinical investigation or basic science research will be emphasized.  A third year of research training may be offered to fellows who demonstrate commitment and distinction.  

Our rigorous curriculum provides a thorough training in the treatment of all rheumatological conditions in both an inpatient and outpatient setting. Please click here for more information about schedules, conferences, and our curriculum.

Learn more

Second-Year Fellows

Emily Carroll, MD
MD, Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston, MA
Residency, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai/Mount Sinai Hospital, New York, NY

Ira Khanna, MD
MD, Lady Hardinge Medical College, New Delhi, India
Residency, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai/Mount Sinai Beth Israel, New York, NY 

First-Year Fellows

Lea R. Meir, MD
MD, University of Central Florida College of Medicine, Orlando, FL
Residency, Northwell Health Manhasset, Manhasset, NY

Tegveer S. Sandhu, MBBS
MBBS, Government Medical College, Amritsar, India
Residency, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, BronxCare Health System, Bronx, NY


Michael H. Kaplan, MD (2019-2021)- Faculty, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai/Mount Sinai West, NY

Celine Zhou, MD (2019-2021) - Faculty, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh, PA

Varun Bhalla, MD (2018-2020) – Faculty, Loyola University, Chicago, IL

Seema Malkana, MD (2018-2020) – Faculty, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital, New Brunswick, NJ

Emilie Chan, MD (2017-2019) - Faculty, Elmhurst Hospital Center, Queens, NY

Anna Kazaryan, MD (2017-2019) - Faculty, UCSF Fresno, Fresno, CA

Jennifer Ben Shimol, MD (2016-2018) – Edith Wolfson Medical Center, Holon, Israel

Weiwei (Wendy) Chi, MD(2016-2018) – Faculty, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai/Mount Sinai Hospital, New York, NY

Micaela Bayard, MD (2015-2017) – Faculty, Mount Sinai Queens, Queens, NY

Daniel Bunker, MD (2014-2016) – Faculty, Georgetown University Hospital, Washington, DC

Nana Jinjolava, MD (2014-2016) – Montefiore Hospital, Bronx, NY

Anil Mankee, MD (2013-2015) – IRMC Physician Group, Indiana, PA

Deepika Arora, MD (2012-2014) - MultiCare Rehumatlogy Specialists, Tacoma, WA                  

Kelly Johnson-Steed, MD (2012-2014) - Rheumatology Associates of Long Island, Port Jefferson Station, NY

Janet Mapa-Bartov, MD (2011-2013) - Center for Rheumatic Disease, Morristown, NJ         

Manika Zeri, MD (2011-2013) - NorthEast Rheumatology, Concord, NC          

Zain Abideen, MD (2010-2012) - Kymera Independent Physicians, Roswell, NM                    

Ruchi Jain, MD (2009-2011) - Maple Medical,White Plains, NY            

Okey Oparanaku, MD (2009-2011) - Las Vegas Rheumatology Associates, North Las Vegas, NV             

Suma Dasari, MD (2008-2010) - Atlantic Rheumatology & Osteoporosis,Cedar Knolls, NJ      

Olivia Ghaw, MD (2007-2009) - Faculty, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, NJ

Gisela Zapata-Arroyo, MD (2006-2008) - Vida Women's Health Center, New York, NY       

Waseem Mir, MD (2006-2008) - New York Integrated Rheumatology, New York, NY          

Vandana Singh, MD (2005-2007) - Morristown Medical Center, Cedar Knolls, NJ     

Jenny Diep, MD (2004-2006) - Rheumatology Associates, New York, NY

Howard Blumstein, MD (2003-2005) - Rheumatology Associates of Long Island, Smithtown, NY

The Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai rheumatology program participates in the NRMP Specialties Matching Service.  Applications are made though the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS) Fellowship Applicant Site.

For questions about the curriculum, contact:

Margrit Wiesendanger, MD, PhD, Program Director

For administrative questions, contact:

Dayana Ruiz


All fellowships begin July 1.  We will review all new, completed applications submitted through September 15, and interviews will be offered to selected applicants.