Cerebrovascular Disease-Stroke Fellowship at the Mount Sinai Health System

We offer a one- or two-year fellowship in cerebrovascular disease. The first year of training is an Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education-approved vascular neurology program. Fellows develop expertise in the management of acute cerebrovascular disease while assisting in directing the care of patients on the stroke service, including those patients in the eight-bed Gustave L. Levy Acute Stroke Unit and the Neuroscience Intensive Care Unit. In addition, fellows obtain training in transcranial and carotid Dopplers and spend time in neuroradiology.

Fellows lead a weekly stroke clinic under the direction of Dr. Stein and spend two or three months each year as the stroke fellow at Elmhurst Hospital, Mount Sinai Morningside, and Mount Sinai West in the stroke division. Mount Sinai is a New York State Department of Health-designated and Joint Commission-certified stroke center. Fellows also attend a weekly vascular neurology conference in conjunction with the Departments of Neurosurgery and Neuroradiology.

Fellows participate in ongoing federally funded neuroepidemiologic and clinical research, including acute interventional trials. Fellows have the opportunity to conduct research in the department's noninvasive vascular laboratory and elsewhere.  During the optional second year of the program, fellows can focus more heavily on research activities.  Fellows may obtain additional research experience in the StrokeNet Research Training Program, which includes regular educational webinars, mentorship from national leaders in stroke research, and focused local research projects with local mentorship and assistance.

Application Process

To be considered, you should have completed an approved neurology residency or equivalent and be eligible for licensure in the State of New York.

To apply, submit your application through ERAS, including your curriculum vitae, three letters of recommendation, USMLE scores, medical school transcript, and personal statement. We begin reviewing applications on December 1 of each year and invite selected candidates for interviews from January through April.  We participate in the Vascular Neurology Fellowship Match.

Fellows in ACGME-Approved Program


  • Mariana Atiya, MD
  • Luis Guada-Delgado, MD
  • Mallory Roberts, MD


  • Jane Khalife, MD, MS, 2020-2021, Neuroendovascular Fellowship, Cooper University Hospital, Camden, NJ
  • Brian Dongha Kim, MD, 2020-2021, Stroke Attending (2021-2022), NYC Health + Hospitals/Elmhurst; Neuroendovascular Fellowship 2022-2024, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • Steven David Shapiro, MD, 2020-2021, Neuro-interventional Surgery Fellowship, Westchester Medical Center, Valhalla, NY
  • Vaibhav Goswami, MD, 2019-2020, Vascular Neurologist, Tower Health, West Reading, PA
  • Kamil Stefanowski, MD, 2019-2020, Assistant Professor of Neurology, Stony Brook Hospital, Stony Brook, NY
  • Mahalet Gizaw, MD, 2019-2020, TBA, Inova Fairfax Hospital, Falls Church, VA
  • Ali Khalfan Ali Balushi, MD 2018-2019: Westchester Medical Center, Westchester, NY
  • Christeena Kurian, MD 2018-2019: Interventional Neuroradiology Fellowship, Weill Cornell, New York, NY
  • Davida Goltz MD 2018-2019: TBD
  • Laura Stein, MD 2017-2018: Vascular Neurologist, Mount Sinai Hospital, New York, NY
  • Gurmeen Kaur, MD 2017-2018: Endovascular Neurosurgical Radiology Fellowship, Westchester Medical Center, NY
  • Ivan Matos Diaz, MD 2016-2017: Hennepin County Medical Center; Minneapolis, MN
  • Clara Boyd, MD 2016-2017: Interventional Neuro Associates; New York, NY
  • Saravana Devulapalli, M.D. 2014-2015-present: Consultant Neurologist, Krishna Institute of Medical Sciences, Secunderabad, Telangana
  • John Liang, MD 2015-2016: Neurocritical and Stroke Attending, Mount Sinai Health System
  • David Hahn, MD 2014-2015: Stamford Health Medical Group
  • Punam Dass, M.D. 2013-2014: Vascular Neurologist, Department of Neurology, Mount Sinai Morningside and Assistant Professor, ISMMS,  New York, NY
  • Douglas Mayson, M.D. 2013-2014: Vascular Neurologist, Department of Neurology, Medstar Georgetown University Hospital, Washington, DC
  • Jonathan Guterman, M.D. 2012- 2013; Vascular Neurologist UMDNJ, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, and the RWJ University Hospital, New Brunswick, New Jersey
  • Jeremy Liff, M.D. 2011–2012; Vascular Neurologist and Assistant Professor, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY
  • Karthikeyan Arcot, M.D. 2011–2012; Vascular Neurologist and Neuro-Interventionalist, Lutheran Medical Center, Brooklyn, NY
  • Aviva Lubin, MD 2010-2011 Director, Stroke Center, Lenox Hill Hospital, New York, New York
  • Frank Kim, MD 2010-2011 Stroke Attending, Eden Medical Center, Castro Valley, California
  • Sarah Cherian, MD 2009-2010, Stroke Attending, Winthrop-University Hospital, Mineola, New York
  • Qingliang Wang, MD, PhD 2009-2010 Stroke Attending, Reading Hospital and Medical Center, West Reading, PA
  • Victor Zach, MD 2008-2010 Neurocritical care fellow, Mount Sinai Hospital, New York, New York 2010-2011 Director of Stroke and Neurocritical Care, John C. Lincoln North Mountain Hospital, Phoenix, Arizona
  • Kathryn Kirchoff, MD 2008-2010 Stroke Attending and Assistant Professor of Neurology, Albert Einstein School of Medicine, Bronx, New York
  • Colum Amory, MD 2007-2009, Stroke Attending and Assistant Professor of Neurology, Albany Medical College, Albany, New York
  • Damon Patterson, MD 2007-2008 Assistant Professor and Director of Endovascular Neurology, UAB Comprehensive Stroke Center, Birmingham, Alabama
  • Lorenzo Blas, MD 2006-2008 Stroke Program, Hermann Hospital, Houston, Texas
  • Ramadeep Sahni, MD 2005-2007 Stroke Program, Westchester Medical Center, New York Medical College, Valhalla, New York
  • Kathleen M. Burger, MD 2003-2005 Director, Stroke Center, George Washington University School of Medicine, Washington, DC


Our faculty members are the backbone of our program, teaching, caring for patients, and conducting research. They include:

Stanley Tuhrim, MD

Mandip Dhamoon, MD, DrPH

Jesse Weinberger, MD

Kara Sheinart, MD

John Nasrallah, MD

Maryna Skliut, MD

Carolyn Brockington, MD

Michael Fara, MD

Punam Dass, MD

Laura Stein, MD

Lili Velickovic Ostojic, MD