Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai Convocation 2019

Convocation 2019 was held on Thursday, October 17, 2019. Convocation marks the beginning of the academic year for the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. At this ceremony, we renew the School’s commitment to excellence in research, education, and clinical care, and recognize individual faculty for their outstanding contributions to serving science and society. We also honor the generous donors who provide the support our faculty need to succeed. We confer endowed professorships and awards to honor both the accomplishments of our faculty and the vision of our donors.

The ceremony includes two components:

State of the School Address
Dennis S. Charney, MD, Anne and Joel Ehrenkranz Dean, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, President for Academic Affairs, Mount Sinai Health System, will present the State of the School Address, an overview of the School’s accomplishments during the past year and describe plans for the coming year.

Presentation of the Endowed Professorships
A cadre of outstanding faculty will be installed into endowed chairs, honoring both their achievements and the generosity and vision of our donors. 

Joshua B. Bederson, MD
Leonard I. Malis, MD/Corinne and Joseph Graber Professor of Neurosurgery

Lakshmi A. Devi, PhD
Mount Sinai Professor in Molecular Pharmacology

Fred R. Hirsch, MD, PhD
Joe Lowe and Louis Price Professor of Medicine

Sundar Jagannath, MBBS
Mount Sinai Professor in Multiple Myeloma

Nathalie Jette, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Bluhdorn Professor of International Medicine

Florian Krammer, PhD
Mount Sinai Professor in Vaccinology

Daniel M. Labow, MD
Eugene W. Friedman, MD Professor of Surgical Oncology

Avi Ma’ayan, PhD
Mount Sinai Professor in Bioinformatics

Roxana Mehran, MD
Mount Sinai Professor in Cardiovascular Clinical Research and Outcomes

Sarah E. Millar, PhD
Lillian and Henry M. Stratton Professor of Gene and Cell Medicine