Research Opportunities

The Mount Sinai Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine offers several opportunities to explore and contribute to academic research. Medical students can participate in the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) Medical Student Anesthesia Research Fellowship (MSARF) and residents can apply for the Eliasberg Research Scholarship Track. For more information, please refer to the links below. 

The Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) Medical Student Anesthesia Research Fellowship

FAER is an organization dedicated to teaching and training medical students who are interested in becoming Anesthesiologist physician-scientists. The Department has continuously supported and hosted FAER students for more than a decade. These students have presented their original research projects at national conferences and have first authored publications in peer-reviewed journals. For more information, please visit the FAER website. Interested in applying? Please visit the MSARF Summer Program website for more details.  

Recent FAER scholars:

Talia Scott, MD 2023
Evan Cohen 2023
Reanna Dona-Termine 2023
Max Feinstein, MD 2022
Sharanpreet Hira 2021
John Vaile 2021
Franics Mtuke 2019
Kathy Zhang 2019
Blaine Stannard 2018
Anjali Cheruri 2018
Mia Spad 2017
Bernard Boateng 2017

The Eliasberg Research Scholar Track 

The Eliasberg Research Scholar Track is a program designed to encourage the development of the next generation of Anesthesiologist physician-scientists. Under the guidance and mentorship of our experienced faculty members, Eliasberg scholars are expected to carry out original investigations, from initial design through to presentation and publication. Residents in the program are given protected non-clinical time to pursue this goal as well as a financial stipend. The track includes educational seminars and twice yearly research retreats that allow presentation and honing of their projects. Participants in the track are expected to be highly motivated and self-driven. Successful completion of the program will lead naturally into early career/young investigator awards. Dr. DeMaria, the department’s Vice Chair for Research, was the first Eliasberg scholar and directs the program. For more information, please contact Dr. DeMaria or Dr. Burnett.