Mount Sinai Logo

Our History

The Nash Family Department of Neuroscience at Mount Sinai evolved directly from the oldest Department of Neurology in New York City. Since 1900, the year our inpatient neurology service opened, Mount Sinai has contributed to basic and clinical research across neurology, psychiatry, and neurosurgery, trained generations of scientists and physicians, and held a reputation for innovation on the national and international stage.

In 1986, the Arthur M. Fishberg Research Center for Neurobiology of Aging was established as a basic science division to investigate the molecular underpinnings of aging related diseases.

In 2004, the basic neuroscience community at Mount Sinai was organized into an independent Department of Neuroscience, with John H. Morrison, PhD, as its founding chair. Eric J. Nestler, MD, PhD, was named chair in 2008, followed by Paul J. Kenny, PhD, who was appointed chair in 2016.

In 2019, the department was renamed The Nash Family Department of Neuroscience in recognition of several decades of transformative support from the Nash Family of neuroscience-focused research at Mount Sinai.

Through the Years