Schwartz Lecture

The Schwartz Lectureship was endowed by The Barry S. Strauch and Evelyn M. Strauch Foundation in honor of the late Dr. Irving L. Schwartz (1918-2011), the founding Chair of the former Department of Physiology, and the first Dean of the Mount Sinai Graduate School of Biological Sciences. The Schwartz Lectures are given annually by preeminent scientists in Structural and Chemical Biology to champion Dr. Schwartz’s vision in molecule-based research to the understanding of human physiology and disease. If you’re interested in joining the mailing list for the Lectureship in the future, please contact

Year Lecture


“Immune Recognition of Viral Pathogens: Implications for Designs of Vaccines and Therapeutics” 
Ian A. Wilson, Ph.D.
Scripps Research Institute


“PROTACs and Targeted Protein Degradation: A New Therapeutics Modality”
Craig M. Crews, Ph.D.
Yale University


"Some Assembly Required: of Histone Chaperones, Chromatin Remodelers, and Nucleosome Assembly Factors"
Karolin Luger, Ph.D.
University of Colorado Boulder
Howard Hughes Medical Institute


“Viral Noncoding RNAs: Approaching Answers”
Joan A. Steitz, Ph.D.
Yale University School of Medicine
Howard Hughes Medical Institute


"The Coming of Age of De Novo Protein Design"
David Baker, Ph.D.
University of Washington
Howard Hughes Medical Institute


"Shedding Some Light on the Dark Matter of the Genomic University
Thomas R. Cech, Ph.D.
University of Colorado BioFrontiers Institute
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
* The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1989


“Cancer Drug Discovery Using Fragment-Based Methods and Structure-Based Design
Stephen W. Fesik, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine


"CRISPR Biology and Genome Engineering Biotechnology"
Jennifer Doudna, Ph.D.
University of California, Berkeley
Hughes Medical Institute
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
* The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2020


"Structure-based Insights into Activities of Transmembrane Channels and Enzymes"
Wayne A. Hendrickson, Ph.D.
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
New York Structural Biology Center


"Ribisome and tRNA Dynamics During the Elongation Cycle"
Joachim Frank, Ph.D.
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
* The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017


"Millisecond-Long Molecular Dynamics Simulations of Proteins on a Special-Purpose Machine"
David E. Shaw, Ph.D.
D.E. Shaw Research
Columbia University


"Cell Regulation by Phosphorylation, Ubiquitylation and SUMOylation"
Tony Hunter, Ph.D.
The Salk Institute for Biological Studies


"Using Insights from Chemical Genetics to Design New Therapeutics for the Treatment of Cancer"
Kevan Shokat, Ph.D.
University of California, San Francisco
Howard Hughes Medical Institute


"Discoveries Through the Computational Microscope"
Klaus Schulten, Ph.D.
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign


"Life, Death and Translocation: Transcriptional Cycles and the Molecular Logic of Nuclear Receptor-Dependent Tumor Translocations"
Michael G. Rosenfeld, M.D.
University of California, San Diego
Howard Hughes Medical Institute


"Small-Molecule Probe and Drug Discovery"
Stuart L. Schreiber, Ph.D.
Harvard University
The Broad Institute of Harvard & MIT


"Protein NMR in Structural Biology and Structural Genomics"
Kurt Wuthrich, Ph.D.
ETH Zurich, Switzerland
* The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2002


 "Chromatin and Transcription"
Roger Kornberg, Ph.D.
Stanford University School of Medicine
* The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2006


"Structural Biology of Viral Entry into Cells"
Stephen C. Harrison, Ph.D.
Harvard Medical School 


"Pathogenesis and Prediction of Diabetes: Lessons from Integrative Physiology"
Richard N. Bergman, Ph.D.
University of Southern California 


Third Schwartz Lecture
Wayne L. Hubbell, M.D., Ph.D.
University of California at Los Angeles


"Reliable Brains from Unreliable Neurons"
Charles F. Stevens, M.D., Ph.D.
The Salk Institute for Biological Studies


"How Hearing Happens: Frequently Tuning, and Synaptic Transmission by Hair Cells of the Internal Ear"
Albert J. Hudspeth, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Texas
Southwestern Medical Center