Distinguished Scholars Award Program

In 2020, we launched the inaugural Distinguished Scholars Award Program, which invites assistant professors with independent research programs to apply for internal funding that can help them maintain momentum as they integrate family caretaking responsibilities into their careers at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

2022 Distinguished Scholar Award Program

This year, we are honored to have support from the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation’s COVID-19 Fund to Retain Clinical Scientists. Their support has allowed us to fund additional scholars through 2022 and support two years of professional development programming for all seven scholars awarded. We also to awarded three runners up with $2,500 in grant writing support.

2022 Distinguished Scholar Awardees:

Kimberly Glazer, PhD, MPH, Blavatnik Family Women’s Health Research Institute: “Obesity and obstetric care: examining weight stigma from diverse patient perspectives”

Katherine Guttmann, MD, MBE, Pediatrics: “Measuring quality of communication in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit”

Alice Kamphorst, PhD, Oncological Sciences: “Cellular niches that promote effective anti-tumor CD8 T cell responses”

Michelle Lin, MD, MPH, MS, Emergency Medicine: “Measuring Access among Medicaid Beneficiaries with Asthma (MAMBA)”

Richard Silvera, MD, MPH, Infectious Disease: “Optimization of anal cancer screening for people with HIV using genomic methods”

Xiaoyu Song, DrPH, Population Health Science and Policy: “Develop statistical methods for integrating single-cell and spatial transcriptomics to study cell-to-cell interactions for Alzheimer's disease”

Elizabeth Spencer, MD, Pediatrics: “Pharmacogenomics for precision treatment selection in inflammatory bowel disease”

Three runners-up: Ilse Daehn, PhD (Medicine, Nephrology), Abha Rajbhandari, PhD (Psychiatry, Neuroscience), and Zhe Ying, PhD (Cell, Developmental, and Regenerative Biology), who will receive stipends for professional, grant writing assistance.

Click here or more information about our scholar’s to-date watch our brief videos on each of our talented scholars.

Building Gender Equity Together Initiative

In 2022, we launched the Building Gender Equity Together (BGET) Initiative. BGET is a series of facilitated dialogues where all members of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai community are invited to participate in conversations leading to the development of powerful, community-led solutions that can improve gender equity across our school. Equity Action Teams of Icahn Mount Sinai students, trainees, faculty, and staff will work closely with the Office of Gender Equity to bring solutions generated from these dialogues into action. Email to learn more.

Amplifying Equity Series

In 2021, we launched the Amplifying Equity Speaker Series featuring esteemed colleagues in the work towards advancing gender equity in our institution and beyond.

Our seminars have focused on topics ranging from equity and diversity in biomedical research to mentorship and sponsorship. We are excited to continue this powerful Speaker Series and highlight individuals internal and external to Mount Sinai with lessons to share from the field.

Check out our past Amplifying Equity events and let us know what topics or leaders in the field we should invite next!