Faculty and Staff

The Women’s Health Research Institute is establishing two Centers of Excellence. The faculty, staff, and advisors of the centers will aim to fulfill the mission of the Institute by conducting translational research to improve women’s health care. The Institute promises to be a magnet for faculty who are committed to conducting relevant studies and training the future leaders in women’s health care.

Starting with its leadership and advisors and extending to the researchers, faculty, and staff, the Institute will explore and improve women’s health care issues in meaningful ways to make a difference globally. We will be recruiting additional faculty and staff over the coming months.


Elizabeth A. Howell, MD, MPP will direct and maintain the Institute, leading and inspiring faculty, researchers, and support staff.


The initial wave of faculty participating in the Institute is an impressive list of doctors and researchers whose focus is on women’s health issues.

Charles Ascher-Walsh, MD

Emilia Bagiella, PhD

Ann Marie Beddoe, MD

Emma K Benn, DrPH, MPH

Nina Bickell, MD

Stephanie V. Blank, MD

Katherine T. Chen, MD

Alan Copperman, MD

Peter Dottino, MD

Natalia N Egorova, PhD

Frederick Friedman, Jr. MD

Carol Horowitz, MD, MPH

Adam R. Jacobs, MD

Teresa Janevic, PhD

Rhoda Sperling, MD

Joanne Stone, MD

Emanuela Taioli, MD, PhD

Faculty Support

Amy Balbierz, MPH, Program Manager

Jessica Overbey, MS (PhD candidate)

Stephanie Pan, MS

Brittany Robles, MD, MPH