The Department of Neurosurgery at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai includes a multidisciplinary team of neurosurgeons and researchers. Our faculty is dedicated to patient care and high-quality research.

Department Leadership

Joshua B. Bederson, MD
The Leonard I. Malis, MD / Corinne and Joseph Graber Professor and System Chair


J Mocco, MD, MS
The Kalmon D. Post, MD Professor and Senior Vice Chair



Associate Professors
Tanvir F. Choudhri, MD
Reade A. De Leacy, MD
Neha S. Dangayach, MD, MSCR
Christopher P. Kellner, MD
Konstantinos Margetis, MD, PhD
Fedor E. Panov, MD
Raymund L. Yong, MD

Assistant Professors
Hae Young Baang, MD
Arianne Boylan, MD
Hang S. Byun, MD
Divaldo De Arruda Camara Jr., MD
M. Travis Caton, MD
Zachary L. Hickman, MD
Salazar Jones, MD
Gregory Kapinos, MD, MS
Cappi C. Lay, MD
John W. Liang, MD
Shahram Majidi, MD
Peter F. Morgenstern, MD
Margaret E. Pain, MD
Benjamin I. Rapoport, MD, PhD
Patrick C. Reid, MD, MS
Chanland (Chan) Roonprapunt, MD, PhD
Tomoyoshi Shigematsu, MD, PhD
Laura Salgao-Lopez, MD, PhD
Hazem Shoirah, MD
Jeremy M. Steinberger, MD
Sedat Ulkatan, MD
Nirit Weiss, MD

Research Faculty
Roland Friedel, PhD
Dolores Hambardzumyan, PhD, MBA
Helen S. Mayberg, MD
Hongyan Zou, MD, PhD

BioDesign Faculty
Turner Baker, PhD
Joseph Borrello, PhD
Iden Kurtaliaj, PhD
Thomas J. Oxley, MD, PhD
Benjamin I. Rapoport, MD, PhD

Clinical Instructors
Thomas J. Oxley, MD, PhD

Voluntary Faculty
Marc Arginteanu, MD
Frank Moore, MD
Yakov Gologorsky, MD
Arthur L. Jenkins III, MD
Thomas Lee, MD
Arien J. Smith, MD
Alfred Steinberger, MD
Kevin Yao, MD

Secondary Appointment Faculty
Puneet B. Belani, MD
Susan Bressman, MD
Thomas Bryce, MD
Alexander W. Charney, MD, PhD
Samuel Cho, MD
Ki Sueng Choi, PhD
Maura K. Cosetti, MD
Amish Doshi, MD
Matijn Figee, MD, PhD
Eric Genden, MD
Satish Govindaraj, MD
Andrew Hecht, MD 
James C. Iatridis, PhD
Joanna Jen, MD, PhD 
Lyndon Kim, MD
Mark Kupersmith, MD
Alfred M.C. Iloreta Jr., MD 
Thomas P. Naidich, MD
Peter Taub, MD 
Vanessa Tiongson, MD
James J. Young, MD, PhD
George B. Wanna, MD