Anesthesiology Research

The Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai (ISMMS) focuses its efforts in clinical and educational research in line with our overall mission. Our aim is to impact patient safety, quality of medical care, and education. Therefore our research emphasizes critical questions about the medical care we practice in the operating room every day and strategies used to educate residents and attendings. Currently, the department has focuses on three broad areas: geriatric outcomes, simulation education, and clinical informatics. Each of these areas is championed by an experienced investigator capable and motivated to mentor young investigators. The research division is in a state of rapid growth, due to the retention of new and junior faculty. Simultaneously we are working to develop infrastructure to support existing investigators as they transition towards independent funding and mentor/leadership roles. 

A residency research track was established in 2007—the Eliasberg Clinical Scientist Training Program (CSTP). This program is led by Sam DeMaria, MD, and supported by the Vice Chair for Research Stacie Deiner, MD and the Clinical Trials Office. Designed to develop a new generation of clinician scientists, the program is named for Bernard Eliasberg, the first Chair of the Department. 

The CSTP admits highly motivated residents who receive a combination of organized mentorship, protected non-clinical time and financial support. Each resident is paired with a scientist mentor who assumes the responsibility for the development of the young scientists. Mentors are mostly from the ISMMS faculty. CSTP is organized in accordance with the requirements set forth by the American Board of Anesthesiology, such that, as a resident, you complete both your clinical requirements and scientific training in the standard three year core curriculum. 

The Eliasberg CSTP is overseen by an advisory board of Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai scientists that reviews the progress of the CSTP participants each year. The advisory board has reviewed projects relating to informatics, clinical anesthesia, and basic biophysical studies. Having worked for several years now, the Eliasberg CSTP appears to be a successful approach to increasing the quality of academic anesthesiologists.

Publications and Recognition

Several members of the Department have successfully competed for external research funding. Current grants include:

Joshua Mincer, MD, and Mark Baxter, MD
R01- 13-0359-01001-01-PD (Patrick McCormick, MD, Mark Baxter PhD) (9/14-present) National Institute on Aging- Trajectory of Recovery  

Stacie Deiner, MD
K23 AG17-015 (Stacie Deiner, MD) (11/2015) National Institute on Aging, Optimizing postoperative cognition in the elderly

Beeson Scholar Program (Stacie Deiner, MD) (11/2015) American Federation of Aging, Optimizing postoperative cognition in the elderly

Matthew Levin, MD
Society for Cardiovascular Anesthesia/ International Anesthesia Research Society Genomics of vasoplegia. July 2015-17

Recent publications include:

Amrock LG, Neuman MD, Lin HM, Deiner S. Can routine preoperative data predict adverse outcomes in the elderly? Development and validation of a simple risk model incorporating a chart-derived frailty score.  J Am Coll Surg. 2014 Oct;219(4):684-94.

Baron EL, Fremed DI, Tadros RO, Villablanca PA, Evans AS, Weiner MM, Yang EH, Augoustides JT, Mookadam F, Ramakrishna H. Surgical Versus Percutaneous Therapy of Carotid Artery Disease: An Evidence-Based Outcomes Analysis. J Cardiothorac Vasc Anesth. 2016 Jul 18

Brallier JW, Dalal PJ, McCormick PJ, Lin HM, Deiner SG. Elevated Intraoperative Serum Lactate During Craniotomy Is Associated With New Neurological Deficit and Longer Length of Stay. J Neurosurg Anesthesiol. 2016 Jul 19.

Deiner S, Luo X, Silverstein JH, Sano M. Can Intraoperative Processed EEG Predict Postoperative Cognitive Dysfunction in the Elderly? Clin Ther. 2015 Dec 1;37(12):2700-5.

DeMaria S, Silverman ER, Lapidus KA, Williams CH, Spivack J, Levine A, Goldberg A. The impact of simulated patient death on medical students' stress response and learning of ACLS. Med Teach. 2016 Jul;38(7):730-7.

Joseph TT, Gal JS, DeMaria S Jr, Lin HM, Levine AI, Hyman JB. A Retrospective Study of Success, Failure, and Time Needed to Perform Awake Intubation. Anesthesiology. 2016 Jul;125(1):105-14.

Levin MA, Fischer GW, Lin HM, McCormick PJ, Krol M, Reich DL. Intraoperative arterial blood pressure lability is associated with improved 30 day survival. Br J Anaesth. 2015 ;115:716-26.  

Joseph TT, Mincer JS. Common Internal Allosteric Network Links Anesthetic Binding Sites in a Pentameric Ligand-Gated Ion Channel. PLoS One. 2016 Jul 12;11(7):e0158795.

Phillips AT, Deiner S, Mo Lin H, Andreopoulos E, Silverstein J, Levin MA. Propofol Use in the Elderly Population: Prevalence of Overdose and Association With 30-Day Mortality. Clin Ther. 2015 Dec 1;37(12):2676-85.

Stone M, Hinchey J, Sattler C, Evans A. Trends in the Management of Patients With Left Ventricular Assist Devices Presenting for Noncardiac Surgery: A 10-Year Institutional Experience. Semin Cardiothorac Vasc Anesth. 2015. [Epub ahead of print]PMID: 26685184