The Maria I. New International Prize for Biomedical Research

The Maria I. New International Prize for Biomedical Research was created in honor of the esteemed career of Maria I. New, MD, one of the world’s foremost pediatricians and a devoted member of the Mount Sinai community. It will be awarded annually to distinguished biomedical researchers for lifetime scientific achievements that have led, or may lead to, new ways to prevent and treat human disease. The award is generously supported by the Pulitzer Prize-winning author and economic historian Dr. Daniel Yergin, and his wife, foreign policy expert Dr. Angela Stent.

The prize winners, who are selected by an international jury of prominent science community members, are awarded $20,000. The prize is administered by Mount Sinai’s Center for Translational Medicine and Pharmacology, in conjunction with the Department of Pediatrics, Department of Medicine, and Department of Pharmacological Sciences, under the dedicated leadership of Mone Zaidi, MD, PhD. Dr. Zaidi, who chaired the jury that awarded the Maria I. New International Prize, is Director of Mount Sinai's Center for Translational Medicine and Pharmacology, and the Mount Sinai Professor of Clinical Medicine at Icahn Mount Sinai. 

About Maria I. New

image of Maria I. New

Over the past half-century, Dr. Maria I. New has earned a reputation as one of the nation's leading pediatric endocrinologists. Her studies of congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH)—a deficiency in the adrenal system that causes gender ambiguity in females and precocious sexual development in males—have led to treatments to correct the disorder before the baby is born. Her groundbreaking identification of a new form of hypertension, “apparent mineralcorticoid excess,” has resulted in a new area of receptor biology.

Since joining the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York City in 2004, Dr. New has continued her work as a Professor of Pediatrics and of Genetics and Genomic Sciences. She is also the Founding Director of Mount Sinai’s Adrenal Steroid Disorders Program.

A member of the National Academy of Sciences, among several other prestigious academies, Dr. New has demonstrated a lifetime dedication to biomedical research and clinical care, and her training of a generation of pediatricians and endocrinologists continues to have a far-reaching impact on the lives of patients and the medical community at large.

2022 Inaugural Prize Winner

image of Carl June

Carl June, MD
, the recipient of the inaugural Maria I. New International Prize for Biomedical Research, is the Richard W. Vague Professor in Immunotherapy in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Director of the Center for Cellular Immunotherapies, and Director of the Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy, all at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.


Maria I. New International
Prize Committee

The prize winners are selected by an international jury of prominent science community members:

  • Nobel laureate Aaron Ciechanover, MD, DSc, Distinguished University Professor at The Rappaport Family Technion Integrated Cancer Center in Haifa, Israel
  • Nancy Andrews, MD, Executive Vice President, and Chief Scientific Officer at Boston Children’s Hospital
  • Nancy Brown, MD, Jean and David W. Wallace Dean, Yale School of Medicine in New Haven, Connecticut
  • Bert W. O’Malley, MD, Tom Thompson Distinguished Service Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology and Chancellor at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas
  • Anna Wedell, MD, PhD, Professor of Medical Genetics in the Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery at the Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm, Sweden

2023 Nominations

The nomination cycle for the 2023 Prize begins on February 1, 2023, and closes on May 31, 2023. To learn more about the nomination process, contact Susan Babunovic at