Neuropathology Brain Bank and Research CoRE

Research conducted using human post-mortem brain tissue remains a critical component of translational brain research programs. To meet the urgent need for this precious resource, the Neuropathology Brain Bank and Research CoRE was launched as part of the Mount Sinai Strategic Plan in July 2018.

Mount Sinai has a long history of excellence in neuropathology research, including one of the first NIH-funded Alzheimer’s Disease Research Centers and the NIH-funded Manhattan HIV Brain Bank among other brain banking initiatives. Our goal is to strengthen and expand tissue-based translational research of devastating brain diseases by expanding the infrastructure to accelerate collection, characterization, and distribution of tissues and data to physician-scientists and basic researchers.

Led by John F. Crary, MD, PhD, the core was formally established in July 2018 and has two complementary components. First, the research core provides a fully functional neuropathology-focused histology core service to Mount Sinai and external investigators, including routine and special studies. Second, the brain bank is focused on expanding collections of targeted areas, including aging, neurodegenerative disorders (e.g. Parkinson’s disease, atypical parkinsonism, dementia, and other movement disorders), traumatic brain injury, and psychiatric illness.

Meet the Team

John F. Crary, MD, PhD
Director
Professor of Pathology and Neuroscience
john.crary@mountsinai.org

Dushyant Purohit, MD
Co-director
Associate Professor of Pathology
dushyantpurohit@mountsinai.org

Etty Cortes, MD
Co-director
Assistant Professor of Pathology
etty.cortes@mssm.edu

Ruth Walker, MD, PhD
Clinical director
Professor of Neurology
ruth.walker@mssm.edu

 

Valeriy Borukhov, AS
Histotechnologist
valeriy.borukhov@mssm.edu

Tamjeed Sikder, BA, MA
Clinical Research Coordinator
tamjeed.sikder@mssm.edu

Megan Iida, BS
Clinical Research Coordinator
megan.iida@mssm.edu

Alicia Casella, BS
Research assistant
alicia.casella@mountsinai.org

Jessie Laffey
Research assistant
jessie.laffey@mssm.edu