MSNseminars (Mount Sinai Neuroscience seminars) is a seminar series competitive program that is organized by Mount Sinai Neuroscience Postdocs. Leading postdoctoral fellows from around the country are selected and invited to who give an institutional seminar and meet with the neuroscience community at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

We are very excited about launching this new initiative—run by our neuroscience postdocs—in order to promote diversity and give selected postdocs a chance to showcase their work. In addition to presenting in an institutional seminar, MSNseminars speakers meet with faculty individually, as well as with graduate students and postdocs. This series provides an excellent opportunity for senior postdocs to present their work as well as network with colleagues and peers at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. Underrepresented minorities in science are especially encouraged to apply. While postdoctoral researchers from all areas of neuroscience are welcomed to apply, this year the committee is inviting cognitive neuroscientists in particular to submit their applications.

2022 Speakers:

February 25, 2022

Alexandra Keinath, PhD, McGill University and the Douglas Mental Health Research Institute
Talk: Dynamic maps of a dynamic world: how hippocampal and entorhinal representations cope with an ever-changing experience of an unstable world

March 25, 2022

Douglas Engelke, PhD,
Talk: Should I stay or should I go? Thalamic circuits regulation of reward approaching vs threat avoidance responses

April 29, 2022

Santiago Cuesta, PhD,
Talk: Gut microbiota composition alters host metabolic profile affecting cocaine-induced plasticity

May 27, 2022

Tahra Eissa, PhD,
Talk: Suboptimal human inference inverts the bias-variance trade-off for decisions with asymmetric evidence

June 24, 2022

Barbara Juarez, PhD,
Talk: Resolving the complexity of dopamine-mediated behaviors and activity states

July 29, 2022

Emilia Favuzzi, PhD,
Talk: GABA-receptive microglia selectively sculpt developing inhibitory circuits

MSNseminars Committee Members and Advisors:

The MSNseminars committee members and faculty advisors include:

Postdoctoral Committee

Angélica Torres Berrio
Anirudh Sattiraju
Anthony Lacagnina
Ana Catarina Ferreira
Jennifer Chan
Catherine Elorette
Kevin Braunscheidel
Ofer Perl
Freddyson Martinez-Rivera
Romain Durand-de Cuttoli
Sarah Neuner
Swati Gupta
William Mau
Zoé Christenson Wick